Make a Reservation
Free Wi-fi No Booking Fees City Centre Location Best Price Guarantee Enter Promotional Code
Book Now
Prepay & save £10!
Summer deals!
Stay two & save!

Reviews

Read Reviews (535)
(
4.63/5
) based on
535
reviews.

by Trauts on Aug 22 2019 10:49

Overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Conveniently placed in the centre of Cardiff so very handy for the shops,Cardfiff Castke and the Principality Stadium.
 
 
 
 
 

by vidalon on Aug 20 2019 14:25

very central hotel and very good offer on website for our stay. The brekfast was very nice as well as the staff of the breakfast room ( very nice brekfast room by the way!). Our room was small and a bit dark but comfy. What could be improved was the welcome at the reception, not a hello and just asking for my surname, no smile...the manager and other women in grey suit were much more nicer and smiling...please remember that at the reception you are the first person we see of the hotel when we arrive so please smile!
 
 
 
 
 

by Sue h on Aug 18 2019 14:23

Excellant hotel stayed there a few times staff very friendly beds r comfy loved it all excellant breakfast
 
 
 
 
 

by Alan Gladman on Aug 10 2019 09:43

Nice comfortable room with a great view and really convenient for local attractions and the city centre. Remarkable value as we had the summer sizzler offer which included a full English all you can eat breakfast. Only downside was that reception is on the second floor and the lift was out of action. To compensate though they gave us a drinks voucher for the bar so we had a free drink AND good exercise:-). Would definitely use this hotel again next time we're staying in Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Norbert Testa. on Aug 7 2019 08:22

We just returned home from a short four day holiday in Cardiff staying at your hotel on a bed & breakfast basis. Thank you for such a memorable stay. Very clean & centrally located hotel. Breakfast was superb & all hotel staff so friendly, helpful & welcoming. Surely will be returning back. Highly recommendable. My best regards, Norbert Testa. (Malta)
 
 
 
 
 

by Michael on Jul 28 2019 09:43

Booked in before 3 o clock which was nice very pleasant gentleman booking you in lovely clean rooms and a warm breakfast to start your day off
 
 
 
 
 

by Richard on Jul 28 2019 09:39

We stayed for our 10th wedding anniversary on 23.07.19. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and we had a lovely surprise of a card and rose petals on the bed, a really thoughtful touch. Bar was relaxing and a nice setting for a drink or 2. Bed was super comfy and the morning breakfast was good quality and plentiful. The location of this hotel is super for a night in Cardiff and steeped in history. Would definitely recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Andrew Stephens on Jul 24 2019 09:37

Thanks we had a fantastic night all the staff were lovely & helpful breakfast was great & the room was very nice with the petals on the bed my wife loved it will definitely be back & will be telling everyone about the good night we had thank you all
 
 
 
 
 

by Richard on Jul 19 2019 13:15

My wife and I stayed with you over 4 nights to attend a conference in Cardiff. We liked the hotel, which is old but updated. We found the staff terrific without exception, always helpful and willing to do their best for us on our very crowded itinerary. It boasts a wonderful historic restaurant. The food is good and exceptionally good value for money, for a hotel of this standard. The location of the hotel is ideally central and within easy walking distance of several key places. It has a useful arrangement with NCP multi story car parking within very easy walking distance, at much reduced rates. The only problem we encountered (apart from Cardiff's traffic) is that what was the front entrance to the hotel is now in a pedestrianised zone. Guests are urged to use the loading bay at the back of the building. This works well provided there is space in it, which can seldom be guaranteed. By choosing our times carefully however, it worked well for us. We certainly enjoyed the Royal! It did very well for us.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mrs Ann Walker on Jun 29 2019 11:58

Mr Mrs and Miss Walker stayed for two nights, 25 to 27 June bed and breakfast. The staff were welcoming and friendly and very helpful. We had two lovely rooms, very clean and tidy. The breakfasts were delicious. Everything from fruit juice to a full English or a continental breakfast if you wanted. We would definitely stay with The Royal again. The Royal hotel is situated in a great location for visiting the City.
 
 
 
 
 

by Katy Thomas on Jun 18 2019 20:59

Wow what a lovely place to stay, thank you so much for a lovely stay we wished we had stayed for 2 nights now. Room was clean and very comfortable and right in the centre. Stairs are a killer but can take the lift if needed. We had the romantic package as it was my husband's 40th and was a surprise for him. Room was lovely and big and everything was in the room from iron,hairdryer even a shaver and a toothbrush just in case you forgot one. The pink bubbly was lovely (wish I had taken the name of it now ). We did have problems with flushing the toilet In the night for some reason but worked perfect in the morning, wasn't a big issue just told reception when checking out . Will be booking again in the future . Thanx again
 
 
 
 
 

by Claire Whiles on Jun 18 2019 10:44

We have stayed at The a Royal Hotel many times and are always impressed by the service. It is the ideal location to explore Cardiff and the bar area offers the perfect vista for watching the world go by. Our favourite Cardiff escape with wonderful customer service.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mrs Joan Allan on Jun 15 2019 15:19

I have stayed at this lovely hotel annually for several years now and I have never failed to have a great stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are always friendly and helpful (especially Catherine and Scott on Reception) and the breakfasts are excellent with plenty of variety for even the pickiest of eaters ! The location of the Royal Hotel is perfect. Cross the road and you are straight into the Royal Arcade which leads directly to St Davids Shopping Centre. Or if you want to go down to Cardiff Bay there is a bus stop just a bit further down the street from the hotel and the buses are regular and plentiful. Cardiff Castle is just at the top of the street and less than a 10 min. walk. I am already looking forward to visiting Cardiff next Spring, bringing more of my family with me, and of course I will be staying at The Royal Hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lauren willson on Jun 2 2019 19:27

Really clean room. Perfectly adequate for our needs. Staff were friendly breakfast staff in particular. Great breakfast. Would stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by the somersets on May 21 2019 09:54

My wife and i recently stayed at the royal in cardiff because we could not book at the premier inn, where we usually stay. I have to say that premier inns loss was our gain. The royal was close to everything we wanted to see, as well as being close to the train station. When we arrived at the hotel we wondered if we had made the right decision, but once inside we knew we had. the staff were helpful, the rooms spacious and had plenty of space for our clothes, which is unusual these days. The breakfasts were lovely and fresh, and one thing i liked is they do not put too much out to get dry,abig plus. We will certainly be staying there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Tarlito on May 20 2019 20:14

Had a lovely night with a great room.well worth it
 
 
 
 
 

by kieran davies on May 12 2019 07:33

What a lovely hotel, got upgraded to a deluxe room which was absolutely stunning complimentary bottle of wine huge superking size bed massive tv bath robes ect will definitely be booking this room next time. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended
 
 
 
 
 

by Tracy on Apr 27 2019 08:10

Nice stay - thank you
 
 
 
 
 

by Marilyn Clifford-Grein on Apr 22 2019 09:16

We had a fantastic night. The best hotel on our journey and great value for money. Really fantastic staff and the area is perfect. It is my hotel for future stays. Marilyn Clifford-Grein
 
 
 
 
 

by George Nedin on Apr 21 2019 12:18

Brilliant stay, beautiful room, extremely clean, staff very friendly and booking in easy. Food was excellent, plentiful and warm. Will definitely stay again, perfect for location if going to theatres and centrally placed for shopping.
 
 
 
 
 

by Bill Cosgrove on Apr 17 2019 18:40

Great find by my wife. Staff are all very friendly and breakfast was lovely. Love the loyalty card idea. We will be back. Exceptional value. Anyone thinking of booking then do it direct.
 
 
 
 
 

by JH on Mar 28 2019 14:58

Really nice, clean, well kept hotel. Great location just a 5 minute walk to train station and even less to shops. Staff are always polite and helpful. I wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere in Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Rosie Houlden on Mar 27 2019 07:53

Stayed in the cinema room, really enjoyed, loved all the posters and the huge TV! Only criticism is there being no window, I understand the reason but would have been nice to have a window with a blackout blind for watching TV. Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice.
 
 
 
 
 

by Andy Sylvester on Mar 26 2019 18:45

Hotel and room very clean. Staff all very helpful and friendly. The hotel was hot and was a little uncomfortable in the bedroom Our particular room was very small for a double Good location for the city
 
 
 
 
 

by Carolyn Higgs on Mar 12 2019 10:57

My husband and I stayed at the royal for my birthday weekend. We were greated by friendly helpful staff and our room was spotless. We had a complimentary bottle of wine on each night and petals on the bed which was a lovely touch. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The hotel is in the perfect position for shopping, nightlife, stadium and castle. This is my second time staying here and I would 100% recommenced it and would love to stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Craig price on Mar 1 2019 09:06

My wife and I stayed at the Royal hotel Cardiff on Tuesday night. Even though the lift was out of order it did not spoil our stay.the hotel informed us a couple of days before we arrived to tell us the lift wasn’t working and that we could cancel and receive a full refund if you wanted to.however we decided to stay at the hotel and were glad we did. This is not our first stay At this hotel and we will keep coming back due to its central location friendly staff and clean and well equipped rooms.all in all a good experience
 
 
 
 
 

by Beth on Feb 19 2019 10:24

Stayed here a few times now, nevet disappointed! The staff are always friendly and the rooms always spotless! Will definitely be returning
 
 
 
 
 

by Christopher John on Feb 17 2019 10:30

Myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at The Royal Hotel in Cardiff for Valentines day and taking advantage of one of its Cinema Rooms which went down a treat in his books. The room itself is spacious well decorated and equipped with all the things a movie buff or Gamer would need including a selection of snacks to keep you going and a fridge to stock up once the hotel ones run out. The T.v was an epic size too and great for playing games on the PlayStation 4 and to be honest the fact that it had no windows was actually really nice as you can forget about the outside world and just chill. We had a lovely welcome from each staff member when we interacted and breakfast was lovely with a wide selection of food and drinks as well as the Hotels stunning home made Honey. If you haven't stayed here before I highly recommend it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mags T on Feb 7 2019 18:12

We had a great one night stay last weekend. The room was lovely, very good breakfast. Friendly staff and excellent service. Will stay there again, as the location is so central.
 
 
 
 
 

by A Seys Llewellyn on Feb 4 2019 10:55

One night stay on account of the snow. Comfortable, smart, clean and welcoming. I was going out to a concert so took a simple bar meal and found it good. A S Ll.
 
 
 
 
 

by Pauline on Jan 30 2019 09:34

Had a great stay at the Royal Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. The quality of food was above average and I loved the special little quirks, such as Welsh cakes from a local bakers and honey made on the hotel roof. The breakfast room is a charming wood-panelled restaurant. The only negative experience at the hotel was that my room was slow to heat. Next time I visit Cardiff I will be staying at the Royal Hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by Andy Megrath on Jan 29 2019 09:57

We stayed here on Saturday night in the Cinema Room, a gift from our parents. We were greeted by warm and friendly staff. The reception area and bar are very modern, clean and welcoming. The room itself was fun and decorated in a film theme. The room had a 76" TV with surround sound and access to Netflix and a PS4 with several games. It also included some sweets and treats for us to enjoy. We really enjoyed our night in! The breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of traditional cooked breakfast items, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and cold meats. The dining area and where the food was displayed was absolutely immaculate. The staff did a great job and deserve credit. We both enjoyed our stay here in this hotel and would recommend you pay a visit.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jen on Jan 20 2019 20:50

Another great stay. We had a huge room, lovely big and comfy bed, nice and clean, bathroom with shower and bath. We love it here and will be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by dave on Jan 20 2019 08:10

every thing you want from a city centre hotel. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend paying a few pounds more for a delux room.Well worth it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Cindra Hilder on Jan 12 2019 20:36

Booked in for 2 night, coming from Australia we love the heat, and coming to a colder climate we wanted warmth. But seriously the rooms were like steam ovens the radiator that was in the bathroom was scolding and no control to adjust! Watch your children dont touch it! You can ask the reception to turn down the heating but we didn't know until we told them that the room was extremely hot the next day. They should notify you on arrival that they can turn down the heat. Apart from that it was a comfortable stay. Breakfast was good great variety. Lovely staff. We would stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by S.cope on Jan 12 2019 07:51

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek and very impressed with the room, location and service we received. I have stayed at hotels which are more expensive and no comparison. I would definitely recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by e collins on Jan 7 2019 08:49

Had a lovely time in a great location.
 
 
 
 
 

by S Collins on Jan 6 2019 10:19

Another great stay at the Royal
 
 
 
 
 

by Allison Pope on Dec 30 2018 18:25

Hotel was a very pleasant surprise - great location and service was very good. Breakfast staff were wonderful and made a fuss of my mother who was celebrating her 80th birthday. Would definitely stay again. Just one point - be careful with parking: We paid at the hotel to have our parking ticket validated but still had to pay in full at the car park as well - as we had stayed in Cardiff for an afternoon concert at St David’s. Would know better next time.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lisa Kirby on Dec 30 2018 06:06

Lovely clean hotel central to everything in Cardiff. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of options. Staff were friendly and helpful. The £5 off a drink in the bar on arrival was a lovely touch.. Woukd definitely stay again
 
 
 
 
 

by Gary on Dec 25 2018 10:44

Great hotel, central to all of Cardiff’s shops/nightlife/restaurants. Have stayed here a few times and you did not disappoint this time either,even though it was a busy Christmas weekend.Rooms ready and clean on time, staff very friendly. Keep up the good work. See you again soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by John Yuill on Dec 22 2018 09:01

What a fantastic hotel. Building, staff and atmosphere was just simply the best. My next trip to Cardiff in the New Year will be spent staying in the Royal. Highly recommended anyone to stay here. Nearly forgot to say had a breakfast to die for aswell!
 
 
 
 
 

by Shelly on Dec 21 2018 22:32

Great location, especially for the train station,and so quiet consider the location. Fab bar ! Friendly staff,and clean rooms. Bee kind products were a nice touch,and everything you would want from a hotel. Fabulous stay,and a good price happy customers.
 
 
 
 
 

by NiaAndFar on Dec 21 2018 08:19

Stayed here for a conference. Great location, so close to train station and right in city centre. Hotel is very good value and staff are very friendly. I stayed in December and there were complimentary mince pies every day!
 
 
 
 
 

by Jodie lewis on Dec 20 2018 09:09

Lovely hotel, great location. Staff are always really welcoming. Will definitely be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by Julie on Dec 17 2018 09:50

Stayed at the hotel on the 13th December and it didn't disappoint. Staff at checkin and at breakfast were very friendly. We had a deluxe room it was worth the extra. It was clean comfortable modern and had all of the amenities we needed. Breakfast was excellent Buffet style it had everything on offer from hot and cold food. We have stayed at the Royal in the past but I have to say this time the hotel was excellent and we will definitely be returning
 
 
 
 
 

by Stevieh on Dec 13 2018 20:01

Stayed at the hotel several times over the years. Staff have always been fantastic and helpful. The room we had this time was very large with plenty of room. It was clean and tidy and I would recommend the hotel. It is in a great location in the centre of Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Diane Carroll on Dec 12 2018 18:26

Always a friendly welcome at this centrally located hotel. Having stayed here in October we knew that we would have a hospitable welcome. The rooms are always spotless and well maintained.
 
 
 
 
 

by Tracey Briggs on Dec 7 2018 08:08

Stayed here on the 04/12/18 and the room and service was excellent i had called before had and explained is was my Wedding Anniversary and when I arrived there was petals on the bed and a card. The room was spotless and the bed was great with a great nights sleep and not a bit of noise I have stayed many places and would rate this as one of the best and will be back hopefully over the Christmas period.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sally on Dec 7 2018 07:29

For personal reasons I didn't end up staying the whole night but the room, the people and the welcome were great. They also found me a taxi when I needed to get home quickly. Brilliant location and it's a treat to stay somewhere that doesn't feel budget for a great price.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice UK Reviews
Close Info