Make a Reservation
Free Wi-fi No Booking Fees City Centre Location Best Price Guarantee Enter Promotional Code
Book Now
Romance Package
Xmas Offer! £62BB
Cinema Room!

Reviews

Read Reviews (402)
(
4.59/5
) based on
402
reviews.

by Emma pickford on Sep 27 2017 19:27

Stayed here a few times and it never fails .. great location .. great rooms.. great hotel and great staff .. marcus and toni were very helpful and professional. Will be back some time soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by emma pickford on Sep 25 2017 17:59

Had a great stay .. lovely clean room and the staff was great .. greeted by marcus and toni such lovely helpful staff.. we will be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Matthew on Sep 24 2017 19:37

Excellent Hotel. Large, clean and comfortable room. Very polite and friendly staff. Ideal location in the city centre, just a short walk from the railway station. I will definitely stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lyn on Sep 23 2017 15:21

Stayed at the hotel after seeing a show in Cardiff, staff were very friendly, room was lovely, and breakfast was well worth having so much choose would definitely stay here again
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer70358394 on Sep 20 2017 09:30

I stayed her for one night, staff were very friendly, room was very comfortable and the cost was very reasonable. I would certainly recommend the Royal Hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Sep 15 2017 19:27

Amazing as always, our 8th time here, never fails to impress!
 
 
 
 
 

by Chelem on Sep 11 2017 08:50

First time to stay at this hotel. What a lovely clean hotel with lovely staff. Stayed on the fourth floor and our room was lovely with a lovely comfy big bed. Only bit of noise had in night was loud music from one of the bars under the hotel. But otherwise you not know you on the main street as was no noise after that. If looking for a hotel and walking distance of everything then this is the hotel for you. Looking forward to next stay here
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer29415470 on Sep 7 2017 08:34

the hotel was first class. the staff were courteous and efficient . the hotels location was again excellent .the one downside was that a generator at night was quite loud and I would imagine would put off other people from staying. the room number I was staying in was 401
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Sep 6 2017 19:38

Fabulous as always, amazing value, staff, food and accommodation, we love it there!
 
 
 
 
 

by Anthony Evans on Sep 3 2017 07:57

What a Great Hotel The welcome from reception staff was magnificent and efficient. With such an easy check in and then to be advised that we had been allocated a FREE Upgrade to a Superior/Deluxe room complete with a complimentary bottle of wine was the icing on the cake and made for a brilliant start to our short break. The room, 506 was excellent. It was nothing short of incredible with a huge bed, massive Television, gorgeous piano black furniture and plenty of seating with two armchairs, a lovely settee and a desk. Add to this the overall size and cleanliness of the room and bathroom together with good views from the four large double aspect windows and we couldn't have hoped for more. All in all, we were happy, well done to all involved. Show less
 
 
 
 
 

by Jessica on Aug 17 2017 10:14

We stayed in the cinema room and I would recommend it to everyone! It came with a good choice of games, loads of films to choose from and Netflix aswell! The staff were really kind and the breakfast was lovely too!
 
 
 
 
 

by SANDRA LAVENDER on Aug 15 2017 17:13

Loved almost everything about it! The Staff were All very friendly and helpful. The Breakfasts and dining room were spotlessly clean and tidy and well stocked with nicely presented choices!. Great start to the day. The Hotel decor and furnishings were welcoming and comfortable. My only downsides were the noisy nights outside and almost getting a parking ticket whilst trying to get the luggage loaded, as the NCP was too far for me to lug the luggage! But Thank you All, just the same!.
 
 
 
 
 

by Vanessa Bridge on Aug 15 2017 06:54

We come to Cardif for a three day convention every year and for the last four years stayed at The Royal. We have been fortunate to always have a lovely room and not too noisy. Cities are always noisy but we have been able to cope! The noisy is for the street which the hotel has no control over. Convenient and helpful staff always gives us appositive stay. Thank you once again
 
 
 
 
 

by Bernie on Aug 14 2017 12:47

Stayed for a night in a room with 3 single Hypnos beds room was very spacious and very well equipped couldn't fault the hotel or staff very enjoyable stay and will recommend to family and friends for a visit to Cardiff as very central and easy to get to especially if using the train.
 
 
 
 
 

by Katarina Williams on Aug 12 2017 16:56

My 88yr old mother and myself stayed 3rd August to 5th August. We really liked your hotel,the rooms were clean and beds extremely comfortable. We had breakfast each morning and it was all very good quality and we enjoyed it very much as there was a lot of choices. The staff were all lovely and friendly and helpful. One suggestion I could make would be a couple of armchairs in the room, as this would have made my mother more comfortable. On a negative note,the only complaint I would make was the noise out in the street, pubs and clubs below your hotel.the noise on Friday night and Saturday night kept us awake until the early hours of the morning.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jade on Aug 9 2017 17:02

Amazing hotel, arrived and thought it would be quite noisy due to the location, but we slept like babies! Comfy beds and plenty of room. Bonus bee friendly products in the bathroom and an ongoing bee conservation project!
 
 
 
 
 

by Ronald Watkins on Aug 8 2017 08:00

enjoyable 3 days. value for money. good breakfast easy chairs need to be a little higher for older ones.
 
 
 
 
 

by Earl Webb on Aug 8 2017 07:16

Really nice stay...thanks Very pleasant and friendly staff Will definitely stay again
 
 
 
 
 

by Bristol Pete on Aug 8 2017 06:16

We enjoyed a three night stay during August 2017. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly always and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was top quality, the lifts worked well, which was great for my elderly mother and the rooms were easy to find. The receptionist called a taxi for us a number of times and it arrived quickly as they have an arrangement with company's. The only negative was actually out of the hotel's control. We were there in mid-summer and our room faced the street area where there were a lot of ' night-time revilries'! However, the rooms were quite well sound-proofed and only woke us a couple of times. But overall, excellent and our thanks to the staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by maria compton on Aug 6 2017 06:39

Excellent hotel.knowlegdable friendly staff. Rooms lovely and clean nice comfortable beds. Breakfast very good. We have stayed before and thought we knew where to park so didn't check sat have on website and ended up at a building site, but this was soon sorted with a call to reception.
 
 
 
 
 

by Joan Allan on Aug 5 2017 10:14

I have just returned from my 8th annual visit to this lovely hotel where I spent 3 nights with my daughter and grand-daughter . Always a warm welcome and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are great too, hot and cold buffet and plenty of it ! The location of the hotel is perfect I think, as it is 5 mins walk from Cardiff Central railway station and you can get a bus from just across the road from the hotel which will take you down to Cardiff Bay. Walk out of the front entrance and you are directly opposite the arcades which will lead you to the large shopping centre. There are plenty of places to eat nearby too. I LOVE visiting Cardiff every year and I LOVE staying at The Royal.
 
 
 
 
 

by Amanda Brookstein on Aug 4 2017 17:53

Excellent stay, fab room and made to feel welcome. Will definitely be coming back
 
 
 
 
 

by Jodie on Aug 2 2017 11:14

This was our first stay but certainly not our last! The hotel was in a superb location, the staff were so friendly and helpful and to top it off our room was beautiful! Really excellent value for money! Can't wait to come back, thank you!
 
 
 
 
 

by frances james on Jul 31 2017 08:04

Stayed at the Royal for 4 days with a friend. The room was comfortable and of good size. Pleased to discover it included tea and coffee facilities and an ironing board! Breakfast in the Scott Room was very good. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The position could not be bettered, being close to the main train station and right near the main pedestrianised shopping centre. Plenty of good places to eat within minutes. Would suggest, however, that unless you have to stay for the weekend, you avoid staying Friday/Saturday night...that is when the area gets busy and very noisy!!
 
 
 
 
 

by karen on Jul 26 2017 21:04

Date of stay 22nd July for one night Second stay at this hotel . Once again not disappointed . Room was lovely ,good breakfast . Would stay again without hesitation
 
 
 
 
 

by Ms V Rust on Jul 24 2017 21:57

Very pleasant reception staff, friendly and helpful. Room was very nice, clean, beds were comfortable and bedding felt lovely- that just washed feeling. Public areas were all clean and tidy as well. The only disappointment was the cooked breakfast which was only luke warm and the water for the tea wasn't hot either. The choice was excellent though. I would definitely stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Deborah Evans on Jul 18 2017 19:38

This is my second stay at The Royal , on both occasions ive had a very good stay , the staff are extremely pleasant and approachable, nothing is to much trouble. Definitely a 5 star rating from me . Looking forward to my next visit ☺
 
 
 
 
 

by Jo Isles on Jul 12 2017 10:19

This is a great hotel. Will definitely be returning when in Cardiff next.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Jul 5 2017 07:38

Excellent yet again, out 6th time here, never fails to please. Roll on next time!
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer34387250 on Jun 25 2017 09:05

Lovely Hotel, central to everything, train station, shops, stadium and eateries. Air conditioned and clean. Would definitely stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Traceyh on Jun 24 2017 06:14

Fabulous individual hotel with great staff
 
 
 
 
 

by Scott Rees on Jun 21 2017 22:15

Stayed 3 times in the last few months great location clean rooms it does what it needs to for us for a nifht out in cardiff. Will be back soon
 
 
 
 
 

by Amanda phillips on Jun 20 2017 06:13

Lovely hotel. Location is ideal for shopping or even if your going to see a show. Will stay in this hotel again. Outside apperance is old until you go inside, its modern and contempary look makes your stay feel luxurious
 
 
 
 
 

by lee on Jun 12 2017 17:13

Stayed in the cinema room...absolutely fantastic! and breakfast was superb! Looking forward to staying again!
 
 
 
 
 

by Ruth Caleb on Jun 12 2017 09:37

Thank you for a very comfortable stay. Room was pleasant (except that I would have liked a view of some sort). The staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was outstanding!
 
 
 
 
 

by Sabrina Saler on Jun 4 2017 19:17

Fantastic hotel for location and cultural attractions. Rooms were clean and beds particularly comfy. Staff were lovely and were more than happy to help with any requests. The breakfast was delicious too! All in all a great stay, would definitely recommend this hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Adan on May 31 2017 20:27

Very pleased to be upgraded free! Very nice hotel that made a special weekend mini break perfect!
 
 
 
 
 

by mike on May 4 2017 13:45

Fantastic value for money, friendly staff, great breakfast
 
 
 
 
 

by Jane Jenner on May 4 2017 13:44

Fantastic value for money, friendly staff, good breakfast
 
 
 
 
 

by Ian lloyd on May 4 2017 06:22

Had a two night stay at the royal again having used this hotel over the last couple of years would recommend highly good staff good location everything you need within a short walk
 
 
 
 
 

by Martin on Apr 26 2017 20:04

From start to finish during our stay it was absolutely faultless!!!.......to the polite & charming reception, the wonderful clean room with superb facilities, the breakfast was simply quality & the location of the hotel is so handy. Don't think we'll possibly stay anywhere else when we visit Cardiff in future!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Karen Rabey on Apr 25 2017 14:13

First time at this hotel although I have made many visits to Cardiff . The Royal didn't dissapoint . Great location ,lovely room good breakfast Like the fact that the rooms are on floors 3-7 which is great due to hotel location . Looking forward to my stay in July Thank you
 
 
 
 
 

by julie price on Apr 23 2017 17:44

Very clean and comfortable room. A good nights sleep and plentiful breakfast. Efficient, polite and helpful staff. Great location. Does what it says on the tin!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Sarah Evans on Apr 21 2017 10:47

Lovely place to stay very clean and modern.Right in the middle of the city centre and a really tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. Only negative, our room was above road works which was very noisy. I asked to be moved, we were moved promptly but we were only moved a couple of floors up. So we could still hear everything and the room we were given had very small high up windows, that you couldn't see out of which made the room very dark and stuffy. We were awoken by the road works at 8am so was not a very relaxing stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Tommy on Apr 13 2017 07:12

Very comfortable stay. Nice to get free room upgrade. Breakfast tasty. Staff polite.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer35333922 on Apr 10 2017 11:42

Great stay last week for three nights for work. All staff massively kind and helpful. Thank you.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lloyd on Apr 6 2017 22:06

We have stayed at The Royal many times and each time it has been excelent. The location is ideal for our needs and the hotel is clean, and staff are friendly. The only downside this time was that the room was a bit small with only one bedside cabinet, but as it was only a short stay this was not a major issue. I would definately recommend this hotel for your stay whilst in Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Gail on Apr 4 2017 01:33

The room was very nice, and the bed very comfortable. The Royal is in a excellent location for shopping, bars and restaurants, I would not hesitate to stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by kay rix on Mar 27 2017 12:07

thank you for a perfect stay. Hotel in a perfect position for visitors. Very helpful staff, beautiful room and an amazing breakfast. Recommended to all....
 
 
 
 
 

by Sharon heard on Mar 26 2017 13:23

Our stay at the hotel was for an overnight stay the room was very small for a double room & we experienced problems with the shower leaking & causing bathroom floor to become very wet the breakfast was quite enjoyable but had to wait a while for fresh hot food to come out into the dining room it was plentiful & overall quite tasty however we wasn't aware that there were egg options nobody had explained u could order different egg options a pleasant stay but the room was tiny for a double
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice UK Reviews
Close Info