Make a Reservation
Free Wi-fi No Booking Fees City Centre Location Best Price Guarantee Enter Promotional Code
Book Now
 
Prepay & save £10!
Romance Package!
Stay two & save!

Reviews

Read Reviews (475)
(
4.61/5
) based on
475
reviews.

by peter korczynski on Nov 8 2018 16:58

another lovely relaxing stay at the royal, fabulous breakfast to start the day. welcoming reception staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by AW on Nov 7 2018 21:44

Delighted to find this little gem! Had an excellent weekend and will certainly be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Darren on Nov 5 2018 14:17

Nice place to stay, with a fresh modern feel. I stay in Cardiff often with work and this Hotel is ideally situated, with friendly staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by James Blackstock on Oct 27 2018 08:09

Enjoyable one night stay with room upgraded on arrival at no cost. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Facility to leav luggage extremely helpful to avoid taking cases around while shopping or sight seeing in Cardiff. Breakfast extremely generous and only slight downside was that food and plates were not as hot as they could be. We are due back in a couple of weeks and look forward to staying again. James Blackstock
 
 
 
 
 

by Diane Carroll on Oct 23 2018 07:50

Perfectly located central hotel. Nice touch with the bee products from the roof top beehives
 
 
 
 
 

by Eddie Grimes on Oct 19 2018 12:10

Excellent hotel, Right in the center of Cardiff. Great staff, good rooms. Highly recommended.
 
 
 
 
 

by mattrpayne@icloud.com on Oct 18 2018 14:22

Always a smile on arrival and a very comfy bed...not to mention the fine quality of bathroom products!! It's such good value and in a prime location
 
 
 
 
 

by Jenifer on Oct 12 2018 10:54

We have stayed in the Royal many times over the past 3years and have always found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The housekeeping staff are always friendly and cheerful in tbe morning. My one criticism I would make is the quality of the pillows. These are not the quality I would have expected, lumpy old and NO pillow protector. My nights sleep could be much improved if these terrible pillows were replaced. Looking forward to our next stay despite the pillows. Would have awarded 5 stars but for the PILLOWS
 
 
 
 
 

by mr m lane on Oct 1 2018 18:57

great city center location, lovely room with big bed and nice bathroom thank you for the £5 drinks voucher and we were able to leave our cases while we went shopping and paid for our car park before leaving a total hassle free enjoyable stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Huw tagg on Sep 29 2018 10:12

We had a lovely time at your hotel, staff were very efficient at check in and check out, the only concern was that our room had clearly not been hoovered or swept as there were clothing tags and glitter on florr from previous guests, breakfast was fab.
 
 
 
 
 

by Brian on Sep 17 2018 19:55

Excellent room, comfortable bed, great breakfast and polite staff. What more would we want?
 
 
 
 
 

by Tidytaff on Sep 7 2018 14:42

A lovely friendly place which is very well positioned. We had an enjoyable stay and would recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Sep 7 2018 06:21

Amazing as always!
 
 
 
 
 

by Joerg on Sep 5 2018 07:03

During our stay in Cardiff we had a fantastic time at the Royal Hotel. Great service, extremely nice and helpful staff, a wonderful room, fantastic food, great bar!! We will definitely recommend it to others and we would like to come back one time. Thanks, Heike and Joerg, Germany
 
 
 
 
 

by Kath Crewe on Sep 3 2018 12:22

Lovely hotel, this was our second stay. Staff are friendly it is clean, the beds are comfy and the breakfast is lovely. I would highly recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Marie on Sep 2 2018 10:39

Lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable room. All the staff very friendly. Ideally situated in the middle of Cardiff. Have stayed here a few times and will definitely come back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mitzy123 on Sep 2 2018 09:53

Lovely room. Spacious. Clean. Friendly helpful staff. Definately will stay again. I like the deals they now do such as the Thursday deal.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer50273292 on Aug 29 2018 06:31

Excellent stay again for the 3rd time ! Location is brilliant ! Can't wait to stay again Mr and Mrs Helen Woodward
 
 
 
 
 

by PETER on Aug 26 2018 20:15

lovely stay again at the Royal.,Good service and excellent breakfast as always
 
 
 
 
 

by Mrs Joan Allan on Aug 25 2018 10:32

I LOVE staying at The Royal and have done so every year for the past several years. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location could not be more perfect I think. Less than 5 mins from Cardiff Central Station, just across the road from Royal Arcade which leads straight up to St. David's Shopping Centre, and also just a little further down the street you can get the bus down to Cardiff Bay. What's not to love about The Royal Hotel ? I am already looking forward to returning next year !
 
 
 
 
 

by Claire collins on Aug 11 2018 10:55

Fab from start to finish , arrived on Sun , lift broken , was upgraded to deluxe room on Wed , our 2nd visit , rooms very comfortable , staff could not have been nicer and manager showed us the bee hives in hotel . Hotel bar a bit quiet but free drink with £5 voucher a nice gesture ...eould recommend if you ever stay in Cardiff , very central too....
 
 
 
 
 

by Ken Foster on Aug 2 2018 07:58

My wife & I stayed here end of July in a deluxe room. It is an extremely pleasant, clean hotel. Everyone working here is very pleasant, nothing is too much trouble for any of them. Room was extremely comfortable & spotlessly clean with quality bedding,furniture & toiletries. Only problem was aircon wasn't very good so room was quite hot. Plenty of choices for breakfast, with the cooked buffet choice, good quality products & beautifully cooked. Lovely dining room. Have stayed at several hotels in Cardiff in the past, it will only be the Royal in future.
 
 
 
 
 

by Daniel on Jul 30 2018 10:58

Fantastic as always. Room lovely, reception polite, no problems whatsoever. We will definitely be returning.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul on Jul 25 2018 10:06

Very enjoyable stay. The hotel is situated right in the centre for everything. The room was very spacious and clean. Everything you expect. The best thing was how friendly the staff were. They made us feel very welcome. The only thing I would change is unsmoked bacon at breakfast.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lorna Wallace on Jul 19 2018 09:06

Stayed one night on business. Great room, lots of space and very comfortable - the upgrade and bottle of wine were very welcome! This hotel is in the heart of the city and less than 5 minutes from the railway station but the rooms are well insulated against noise. The breakfast room was something else - grand, wooden panels! Breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice and high quality. I enjoyed my stay and only wish it could have been for longer.
 
 
 
 
 

by Alan on Jul 13 2018 13:09

Once again excellent service, staff very polite , breakfast was superb, however the room we were given this time was not up to the normal standard that we normally have,do not understand why we were given a room for a disabled person .
 
 
 
 
 

by Fran on Jul 8 2018 22:05

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Excellent location close to station shops and restaurants. Rooms were luxury with added bonus of air con. Everything to pamper yourself. Staff extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will go back when visiting Cardiff. Well done to everyone at The Royal Hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by Winnie on Jul 8 2018 16:56

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at the Royal hotel. The room was spacious and clean and it had a lovely view. The staff was extremely helpful - they let us leave our luggage earlier so we could go and explore the city centre without worrying about our possessions. I also appreciate the fact that this hotel has the best location and prices. Highly recommend to everybody - I've stayed here twice so far and can't wait to book again!
 
 
 
 
 

by Anna Winiarz on Jul 7 2018 14:20

This hotel is an amazing star in the city centre. Great value, rooms spacious and clean. Beds are like fluffy heaven- incredibly relaxing, pleasantly soft and comfortable. I really felt at home. Staff was very helpful and even though we arrived earlier we knew we could leave our luggage and go explore the city. I've slept in many hotels in Cardiff- and this one is the best!!! I will definitely be booking this one whenever I'm in Cardiff. You guys do great job!!!
 
 
 
 
 

by T Cooper on Jul 3 2018 19:29

Lovely hotel.definitely stay again. Just one negative no tea. Or coffee making facilities in the room
 
 
 
 
 

by Lee Nurden on Jun 25 2018 06:23

We love this hotel! We stayed in the cinema room and it was amazing! Highly recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by julie salini on Jun 18 2018 10:19

Excellent location and very clean, comfortable room. Very friendly and efficient staff. Easy check-in and a discount car parking at NCP car park nearby. Cannot fault this hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by neil brown on Jun 18 2018 10:09

had a great one nights stay before rolling stones concert. room was lovely with complimentary wine. receptionist was really friendly. lovely breakfast
 
 
 
 
 

by Julia Williams on May 29 2018 09:49

What a lovely hotel..I didn't even know it existed and I know cardiff well..recommended by a friend as celebrating my husband 50th birthday..was really impressed with the card and petals left in room by the hotel staff..really lovely touch...couldn't fault anything..amazing breakfast and really polite staff. Would definitely stay again Julia Williams
 
 
 
 
 

by Clara20 on May 24 2018 11:09

Great location lovely rooms. Everything you need. Staff really friendly . We've stayed there 5 times and would definetly recommend. Fab breakfast too. Definetly worth booking.
 
 
 
 
 

by anne ramsay on May 23 2018 06:11

excellent central location, friendly staff and a brilliant breakfast
 
 
 
 
 

by Marc Wilson on May 9 2018 12:28

Our weekend stay was a good one - we booked room only as the breakfast prices seem a little extortionate. I have stayed at the Royal before so I knew the layout of the Hotel. A draw back with the Royal is that there is no free parking and their chosen car park is a 5 minute walk away - and the parking cost for 2 nights came to a whopping £32.00!! When we arrived, I realised that there was no bath in the room but the receptionist kindly changed our room to one with a bath with ease and no hassle. The only complainant we had was that it was quite noisy outside - we were on the 4th floor and the noise of the revellers outside still penetrated the room occasionally
 
 
 
 
 

by Simon on May 6 2018 11:22

Excellent service, friendly staff, spacious, clean room and a fantastic location. Couldn't recommend enough
 
 
 
 
 

by David Phillips on May 3 2018 09:48

Best city centre hotels in cardiff. Highly recommend the deluxe rooms for that special oçcasion.
 
 
 
 
 

by Basil Clive Evans on Apr 29 2018 19:54

What a great hotel rooms very good staff very friendly the breakfast was also very good all together a very enjoyable stay .Will be staying again in August My wife and I thank you all very much
 
 
 
 
 

by John Morgan on Apr 28 2018 14:24

Have recently returned home following a very enjoyable stay at the Royal Hotel for my first visit to Cardiff. The hotel is well situated in the centre of the city, being five minutes from the station and adjacent to the many arcades and close to the castle. We were met with a warm welcome from the receptionist, and were most surprised to receive an upgraded room, which was very pleasant and most comfortable. Breakfast provided ample choice to start each day and the ambience of the bar most relaxing. All members of staff were were courteous, friendly and helpful. My wife and I would certainly return to the Royal if we have occasion to visit Cardiff again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Reviewsrus on Apr 26 2018 07:03

Fantastic stay. Superb location, £5 beer voucher, friendly, courteous and professional staff and a really, really nice breakfast - smoked bacon, decent sausages and eggs cooked to order. Perfect. Except for one thing. The toasters are so very, very, very slow. They need changing.
 
 
 
 
 

by Julie T on Apr 24 2018 12:12

First stay in this hotel and I couldn't fault it - real value for money for a good standard of accommodation and service - thank you.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dave on Apr 17 2018 22:38

What a lovely hotel. 10% off and a £5 voucher for the bar for booking direct so was cheaper than a lot of other hotels. Comfortable and a superb location, plus the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was absolutely lovely and included in the rate. Parking is extra but discounted rates at the nearby NCP which is a couple of minutes walk away. Definitely will be going again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dave on Apr 17 2018 22:30

What a lovely stay. We'd booked one of the Special Offer packages but had 10% off plus £5 off at the bar so with parking it was still cheaper than a lot of the hotels nearby. Very comfortable, superb location and the breakfast was absolutely lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful too. Will definitely be going again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul and Ann Lewis on Apr 15 2018 06:47

Our first visit to the Royal and even though we live relatively locally it won't be our last. The staff were very accommodating, keeping our bags and shopping safe whilst we explored the shops further, when it was time to book in it was simple and done with a smile. The bedroom was big and well appointed and the bed comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet for a city centre hotel and the breakfast the following day was great (after a late night where the night staff didn't hesitate to open the bar up for us in the early hours). Great value for money (virtually the same price as a taxi home would have been). Overall the welcome, comfort and breakfast was as good as we've had in some five star hotels. Well done to all the staff, thanks for a great stay. Paul & Ann Lewis
 
 
 
 
 

by David Lloyd on Apr 14 2018 07:28

This was my second stay in a month at the Royal Hotel Cardiff. The staff were as lovely as ever and nothing was too much trouble. This time I had the breakfast which was excellent. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for service, room cleanliness and comfort and location. David Lloyd
 
 
 
 
 

by JohnCumbria on Apr 9 2018 12:22

The Royal is a very pleasant and convenient base for a trip to Cardiff. It is about 300 metres from the station and very close to pleasant bars and restaurants, as well as being a perfect base for shoppng. Our room was smallish but clean and pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to spend a hew days in the Welsh capital.
 
 
 
 
 

by Alan jones on Apr 7 2018 16:34

excellent service staff very friendly, room immaculate and comfortable, perfect location,
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen and rob on Apr 4 2018 07:30

Fantastic hotel great location stayed twice this year 2018 and staying again in August ! Very helpful staff spotlessly clean Would recommend this hotel
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice UK Reviews
Close Info