Make a Reservation
Free Wi-fi No Booking Fees City Centre Location Best Price Guarantee Enter Promotional Code
Book Now
Romance Package
Summer BB Deals!
Stay two & save!

Reviews

Read Reviews (432)
(
4.60/5
) based on
432
reviews.

by Dave on Apr 17 2018 22:38

What a lovely hotel. 10% off and a £5 voucher for the bar for booking direct so was cheaper than a lot of other hotels. Comfortable and a superb location, plus the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was absolutely lovely and included in the rate. Parking is extra but discounted rates at the nearby NCP which is a couple of minutes walk away. Definitely will be going again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dave on Apr 17 2018 22:30

What a lovely stay. We'd booked one of the Special Offer packages but had 10% off plus £5 off at the bar so with parking it was still cheaper than a lot of the hotels nearby. Very comfortable, superb location and the breakfast was absolutely lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful too. Will definitely be going again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul and Ann Lewis on Apr 15 2018 06:47

Our first visit to the Royal and even though we live relatively locally it won't be our last. The staff were very accommodating, keeping our bags and shopping safe whilst we explored the shops further, when it was time to book in it was simple and done with a smile. The bedroom was big and well appointed and the bed comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet for a city centre hotel and the breakfast the following day was great (after a late night where the night staff didn't hesitate to open the bar up for us in the early hours). Great value for money (virtually the same price as a taxi home would have been). Overall the welcome, comfort and breakfast was as good as we've had in some five star hotels. Well done to all the staff, thanks for a great stay. Paul & Ann Lewis
 
 
 
 
 

by David Lloyd on Apr 14 2018 07:28

This was my second stay in a month at the Royal Hotel Cardiff. The staff were as lovely as ever and nothing was too much trouble. This time I had the breakfast which was excellent. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for service, room cleanliness and comfort and location. David Lloyd
 
 
 
 
 

by JohnCumbria on Apr 9 2018 12:22

The Royal is a very pleasant and convenient base for a trip to Cardiff. It is about 300 metres from the station and very close to pleasant bars and restaurants, as well as being a perfect base for shoppng. Our room was smallish but clean and pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to spend a hew days in the Welsh capital.
 
 
 
 
 

by Alan jones on Apr 7 2018 16:34

excellent service staff very friendly, room immaculate and comfortable, perfect location,
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen and rob on Apr 4 2018 07:30

Fantastic hotel great location stayed twice this year 2018 and staying again in August ! Very helpful staff spotlessly clean Would recommend this hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen and Rob woodward on Apr 4 2018 07:18

Fantastic hotel amazing location stayed twice this year back again in August!
 
 
 
 
 

by Alan Jones on Apr 3 2018 15:55

Very efficient and welcoming staff, room very comfortable and spotless, will definately stay again , well worth the money
 
 
 
 
 

by Janice on Apr 3 2018 08:41

Enjoyed our stay with you. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the overall feel of the hotel was good. Room was very clean and tidy and great value for money. We would definitely stay with you again. Janice
 
 
 
 
 

by Stuart on Apr 2 2018 07:33

Excellent hotel in a perfect position. Rooms were spacious and breakfast was superb. Would definitely stay here again
 
 
 
 
 

by Jess on Apr 1 2018 10:06

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Royal Hotel. The location of the hotel is great - just a 5 minute walk from the train station and right in the centre of Cardiff so very easy to explore the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very big with a very comfy king size bed! One down point was the bathroom which could do with some updating. On one occasion we were unable to use any water, which we assume was because everyone was having a shower at the same time? I would also like to note that the room was quite dark at night due to the in- efficiency of the lights. Lastly, it would also be good if there was a larger range of teas, coffees etc. such as herbal teas, biscuits and some water.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jane Davies on Mar 31 2018 10:48

Great hotel for the price with a lovely big, clean, room with a huge bed. Very central. Pleasant staff. We will use this hotel again and would have no hesitation in recommending to others. Historical fact, this was the last place Scott of the Antarctic had dinner before the fateful journey south.
 
 
 
 
 

by Beth on Mar 27 2018 13:00

Had a lovely one nights stay here - wish it was longer! The staff were very welcoming and friendly frm start to finish. Had a lovely surprise when we checked in to find we had been upgraded to a deluxe room with a complimentary bottle of wine which was an extra bonus. The room that we did end up staying in was lovely - clean, comfortable and well furnished with facilities for teas, coffees and hot chocolates. The hotel itself was in the most perfect central location for exploring Cardiff. Would with out a doubt stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by paul Potter on Mar 26 2018 14:55

EXCELLENT AS ALWAYS
 
 
 
 
 

by Teresa Harries on Mar 24 2018 09:56

Always stay at this hotel in Cardiff , the location is ideal for all the shops and restaurants and just a short walk to the train station. The hotel itself is lovely, I ve stayed many times and the rooms are always immaculate. The staff are always friendly and helpful,especially Marcus and Catherine . I always recommend this hotel if anyone asks me. Keep up the good work you are doing it right !!
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne-Sophie on Mar 19 2018 21:22

Perfect room, really big. The entire staff was really kind. Breakfast was really amazing, delicious, perfect.
 
 
 
 
 

by l proc on Mar 9 2018 07:23

Great service, lovely room, great location.will definitley be coming back!
 
 
 
 
 

by Cc789 on Mar 4 2018 09:29

Lovely welcome, easy check in and check out and free welsh cakes for St Davids Day. Room had an extra heater due to cold weather and snow conditions but the room was warm enough. Drinks prices in the bar reasonable overall a comfort stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Joe Louis Murray on Feb 24 2018 14:29

Another amazing stay at the Royal Hotel Cardiff!! This little gem nestled in the heart of the city is a must stay for all you romantics out there! The rooms are luxurious and the staff are superb!! Well worth a visit!!
 
 
 
 
 

by mrs lenora lewis on Feb 24 2018 07:46

Excellent Hotel Everything that you could want Room was excellent Breakfast was excellent Staff were excellent Could not fault this Hotel Will definately stay again
 
 
 
 
 

by Claire Roberts on Feb 18 2018 13:32

Had a lovely 2 days stay .would defo recommend and stay again if we were in cardiff
 
 
 
 
 

by Marta on Feb 12 2018 15:16

Great breakfast - one of the best I had in the UK!
 
 
 
 
 

by Titti on Jan 18 2018 08:57

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer31177084 on Jan 12 2018 20:15

Very nice stay - room, staff and all facilities very pleasant as usual. Have enough rewards now for a free stay, see you soon. Joe Neligan Jan. 2018
 
 
 
 
 

by Caroline on Dec 7 2017 11:40

This is a fabulous hotel and in a very good location. The staff cannot do enough for you. I would recommend this hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by gillian on Dec 6 2017 12:18

Great room (401) although a little noisy due to location on main street with the nightclub music and people shrieking at silly o'clock, not hotels fault that I forgot my earplugs! Overall a good stay, will try for the Star Wars room next time!
 
 
 
 
 

by Dartech on Nov 27 2017 21:26

A good location close to the City pedestrianised area. Good sized bedrooms and a good breakfast in the Scott Room with lots of history. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Although it does not have any parking, they have an arrangement with the nearby NCP car park to get a reduced daily rate. Would certainly stay there again. Well done to all the staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sarah Adams-Greener on Nov 27 2017 10:03

Booked the Royal Hotel as part of my husbands birthday celebrations. Check in was efficient and staff very friendly. We had a complimentary upgrade which was a wonderful gesture and the wine was lovely. The room was spectacular and facilities exceptional. Overall wonderful value for money to stay in such a central location, close to all amenities. Wonderful variety at breakfast. Would like to thank all at the Royal Hotel for making it a very good weekend. Would highly recommend a stay at this great hotel. Diolch - Thank you.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jackie on Oct 24 2017 08:15

Our second stay at the Royal for a 40th birthday night out was great and we will be back. We had a problem with the first room we were allocated but the reception staff sorted us a new room with a smile as if we were not being any trouble at all! so thanks very much.(sorry I didn't get her name but she was on duty on Saturday afternoon)
 
 
 
 
 

by Emma pickford on Sep 27 2017 19:27

Stayed here a few times and it never fails .. great location .. great rooms.. great hotel and great staff .. marcus and toni were very helpful and professional. Will be back some time soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by emma pickford on Sep 25 2017 17:59

Had a great stay .. lovely clean room and the staff was great .. greeted by marcus and toni such lovely helpful staff.. we will be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Matthew on Sep 24 2017 19:37

Excellent Hotel. Large, clean and comfortable room. Very polite and friendly staff. Ideal location in the city centre, just a short walk from the railway station. I will definitely stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lyn on Sep 23 2017 15:21

Stayed at the hotel after seeing a show in Cardiff, staff were very friendly, room was lovely, and breakfast was well worth having so much choose would definitely stay here again
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer70358394 on Sep 20 2017 09:30

I stayed her for one night, staff were very friendly, room was very comfortable and the cost was very reasonable. I would certainly recommend the Royal Hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Sep 15 2017 19:27

Amazing as always, our 8th time here, never fails to impress!
 
 
 
 
 

by Chelem on Sep 11 2017 08:50

First time to stay at this hotel. What a lovely clean hotel with lovely staff. Stayed on the fourth floor and our room was lovely with a lovely comfy big bed. Only bit of noise had in night was loud music from one of the bars under the hotel. But otherwise you not know you on the main street as was no noise after that. If looking for a hotel and walking distance of everything then this is the hotel for you. Looking forward to next stay here
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer29415470 on Sep 7 2017 08:34

the hotel was first class. the staff were courteous and efficient . the hotels location was again excellent .the one downside was that a generator at night was quite loud and I would imagine would put off other people from staying. the room number I was staying in was 401
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Sep 6 2017 19:38

Fabulous as always, amazing value, staff, food and accommodation, we love it there!
 
 
 
 
 

by Anthony Evans on Sep 3 2017 07:57

What a Great Hotel The welcome from reception staff was magnificent and efficient. With such an easy check in and then to be advised that we had been allocated a FREE Upgrade to a Superior/Deluxe room complete with a complimentary bottle of wine was the icing on the cake and made for a brilliant start to our short break. The room, 506 was excellent. It was nothing short of incredible with a huge bed, massive Television, gorgeous piano black furniture and plenty of seating with two armchairs, a lovely settee and a desk. Add to this the overall size and cleanliness of the room and bathroom together with good views from the four large double aspect windows and we couldn't have hoped for more. All in all, we were happy, well done to all involved. Show less
 
 
 
 
 

by Jessica on Aug 17 2017 10:14

We stayed in the cinema room and I would recommend it to everyone! It came with a good choice of games, loads of films to choose from and Netflix aswell! The staff were really kind and the breakfast was lovely too!
 
 
 
 
 

by SANDRA LAVENDER on Aug 15 2017 17:13

Loved almost everything about it! The Staff were All very friendly and helpful. The Breakfasts and dining room were spotlessly clean and tidy and well stocked with nicely presented choices!. Great start to the day. The Hotel decor and furnishings were welcoming and comfortable. My only downsides were the noisy nights outside and almost getting a parking ticket whilst trying to get the luggage loaded, as the NCP was too far for me to lug the luggage! But Thank you All, just the same!.
 
 
 
 
 

by Vanessa Bridge on Aug 15 2017 06:54

We come to Cardif for a three day convention every year and for the last four years stayed at The Royal. We have been fortunate to always have a lovely room and not too noisy. Cities are always noisy but we have been able to cope! The noisy is for the street which the hotel has no control over. Convenient and helpful staff always gives us appositive stay. Thank you once again
 
 
 
 
 

by Bernie on Aug 14 2017 12:47

Stayed for a night in a room with 3 single Hypnos beds room was very spacious and very well equipped couldn't fault the hotel or staff very enjoyable stay and will recommend to family and friends for a visit to Cardiff as very central and easy to get to especially if using the train.
 
 
 
 
 

by Katarina Williams on Aug 12 2017 16:56

My 88yr old mother and myself stayed 3rd August to 5th August. We really liked your hotel,the rooms were clean and beds extremely comfortable. We had breakfast each morning and it was all very good quality and we enjoyed it very much as there was a lot of choices. The staff were all lovely and friendly and helpful. One suggestion I could make would be a couple of armchairs in the room, as this would have made my mother more comfortable. On a negative note,the only complaint I would make was the noise out in the street, pubs and clubs below your hotel.the noise on Friday night and Saturday night kept us awake until the early hours of the morning.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jade on Aug 9 2017 17:02

Amazing hotel, arrived and thought it would be quite noisy due to the location, but we slept like babies! Comfy beds and plenty of room. Bonus bee friendly products in the bathroom and an ongoing bee conservation project!
 
 
 
 
 

by Ronald Watkins on Aug 8 2017 08:00

enjoyable 3 days. value for money. good breakfast easy chairs need to be a little higher for older ones.
 
 
 
 
 

by Earl Webb on Aug 8 2017 07:16

Really nice stay...thanks Very pleasant and friendly staff Will definitely stay again
 
 
 
 
 

by Bristol Pete on Aug 8 2017 06:16

We enjoyed a three night stay during August 2017. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly always and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was top quality, the lifts worked well, which was great for my elderly mother and the rooms were easy to find. The receptionist called a taxi for us a number of times and it arrived quickly as they have an arrangement with company's. The only negative was actually out of the hotel's control. We were there in mid-summer and our room faced the street area where there were a lot of ' night-time revilries'! However, the rooms were quite well sound-proofed and only woke us a couple of times. But overall, excellent and our thanks to the staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by maria compton on Aug 6 2017 06:39

Excellent hotel.knowlegdable friendly staff. Rooms lovely and clean nice comfortable beds. Breakfast very good. We have stayed before and thought we knew where to park so didn't check sat have on website and ended up at a building site, but this was soon sorted with a call to reception.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice UK Reviews
Close Info