Make a Reservation
Free Wi-fi No Booking Fees City Centre Location Best Price Guarantee Enter Promotional Code
Book Now
Prepay & save £10!
Romance Package!
Stay two & save!

Reviews

Read Reviews (511)
(
4.63/5
) based on
511
reviews.

by Carolyn Higgs on Mar 12 2019 10:57

My husband and I stayed at the royal for my birthday weekend. We were greated by friendly helpful staff and our room was spotless. We had a complimentary bottle of wine on each night and petals on the bed which was a lovely touch. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The hotel is in the perfect position for shopping, nightlife, stadium and castle. This is my second time staying here and I would 100% recommenced it and would love to stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Craig price on Mar 1 2019 09:06

My wife and I stayed at the Royal hotel Cardiff on Tuesday night. Even though the lift was out of order it did not spoil our stay.the hotel informed us a couple of days before we arrived to tell us the lift wasn’t working and that we could cancel and receive a full refund if you wanted to.however we decided to stay at the hotel and were glad we did. This is not our first stay At this hotel and we will keep coming back due to its central location friendly staff and clean and well equipped rooms.all in all a good experience
 
 
 
 
 

by Beth on Feb 19 2019 10:24

Stayed here a few times now, nevet disappointed! The staff are always friendly and the rooms always spotless! Will definitely be returning
 
 
 
 
 

by Christopher John on Feb 17 2019 10:30

Myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at The Royal Hotel in Cardiff for Valentines day and taking advantage of one of its Cinema Rooms which went down a treat in his books. The room itself is spacious well decorated and equipped with all the things a movie buff or Gamer would need including a selection of snacks to keep you going and a fridge to stock up once the hotel ones run out. The T.v was an epic size too and great for playing games on the PlayStation 4 and to be honest the fact that it had no windows was actually really nice as you can forget about the outside world and just chill. We had a lovely welcome from each staff member when we interacted and breakfast was lovely with a wide selection of food and drinks as well as the Hotels stunning home made Honey. If you haven't stayed here before I highly recommend it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mags T on Feb 7 2019 18:12

We had a great one night stay last weekend. The room was lovely, very good breakfast. Friendly staff and excellent service. Will stay there again, as the location is so central.
 
 
 
 
 

by A Seys Llewellyn on Feb 4 2019 10:55

One night stay on account of the snow. Comfortable, smart, clean and welcoming. I was going out to a concert so took a simple bar meal and found it good. A S Ll.
 
 
 
 
 

by Pauline on Jan 30 2019 09:34

Had a great stay at the Royal Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. The quality of food was above average and I loved the special little quirks, such as Welsh cakes from a local bakers and honey made on the hotel roof. The breakfast room is a charming wood-panelled restaurant. The only negative experience at the hotel was that my room was slow to heat. Next time I visit Cardiff I will be staying at the Royal Hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by Andy Megrath on Jan 29 2019 09:57

We stayed here on Saturday night in the Cinema Room, a gift from our parents. We were greeted by warm and friendly staff. The reception area and bar are very modern, clean and welcoming. The room itself was fun and decorated in a film theme. The room had a 76" TV with surround sound and access to Netflix and a PS4 with several games. It also included some sweets and treats for us to enjoy. We really enjoyed our night in! The breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of traditional cooked breakfast items, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and cold meats. The dining area and where the food was displayed was absolutely immaculate. The staff did a great job and deserve credit. We both enjoyed our stay here in this hotel and would recommend you pay a visit.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jen on Jan 20 2019 20:50

Another great stay. We had a huge room, lovely big and comfy bed, nice and clean, bathroom with shower and bath. We love it here and will be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by dave on Jan 20 2019 08:10

every thing you want from a city centre hotel. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend paying a few pounds more for a delux room.Well worth it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Cindra Hilder on Jan 12 2019 20:36

Booked in for 2 night, coming from Australia we love the heat, and coming to a colder climate we wanted warmth. But seriously the rooms were like steam ovens the radiator that was in the bathroom was scolding and no control to adjust! Watch your children dont touch it! You can ask the reception to turn down the heating but we didn't know until we told them that the room was extremely hot the next day. They should notify you on arrival that they can turn down the heat. Apart from that it was a comfortable stay. Breakfast was good great variety. Lovely staff. We would stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by S.cope on Jan 12 2019 07:51

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek and very impressed with the room, location and service we received. I have stayed at hotels which are more expensive and no comparison. I would definitely recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by e collins on Jan 7 2019 08:49

Had a lovely time in a great location.
 
 
 
 
 

by S Collins on Jan 6 2019 10:19

Another great stay at the Royal
 
 
 
 
 

by Allison Pope on Dec 30 2018 18:25

Hotel was a very pleasant surprise - great location and service was very good. Breakfast staff were wonderful and made a fuss of my mother who was celebrating her 80th birthday. Would definitely stay again. Just one point - be careful with parking: We paid at the hotel to have our parking ticket validated but still had to pay in full at the car park as well - as we had stayed in Cardiff for an afternoon concert at St David’s. Would know better next time.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lisa Kirby on Dec 30 2018 06:06

Lovely clean hotel central to everything in Cardiff. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of options. Staff were friendly and helpful. The £5 off a drink in the bar on arrival was a lovely touch.. Woukd definitely stay again
 
 
 
 
 

by Gary on Dec 25 2018 10:44

Great hotel, central to all of Cardiff’s shops/nightlife/restaurants. Have stayed here a few times and you did not disappoint this time either,even though it was a busy Christmas weekend.Rooms ready and clean on time, staff very friendly. Keep up the good work. See you again soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by John Yuill on Dec 22 2018 09:01

What a fantastic hotel. Building, staff and atmosphere was just simply the best. My next trip to Cardiff in the New Year will be spent staying in the Royal. Highly recommended anyone to stay here. Nearly forgot to say had a breakfast to die for aswell!
 
 
 
 
 

by Shelly on Dec 21 2018 22:32

Great location, especially for the train station,and so quiet consider the location. Fab bar ! Friendly staff,and clean rooms. Bee kind products were a nice touch,and everything you would want from a hotel. Fabulous stay,and a good price happy customers.
 
 
 
 
 

by NiaAndFar on Dec 21 2018 08:19

Stayed here for a conference. Great location, so close to train station and right in city centre. Hotel is very good value and staff are very friendly. I stayed in December and there were complimentary mince pies every day!
 
 
 
 
 

by Jodie lewis on Dec 20 2018 09:09

Lovely hotel, great location. Staff are always really welcoming. Will definitely be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by Julie on Dec 17 2018 09:50

Stayed at the hotel on the 13th December and it didn't disappoint. Staff at checkin and at breakfast were very friendly. We had a deluxe room it was worth the extra. It was clean comfortable modern and had all of the amenities we needed. Breakfast was excellent Buffet style it had everything on offer from hot and cold food. We have stayed at the Royal in the past but I have to say this time the hotel was excellent and we will definitely be returning
 
 
 
 
 

by Stevieh on Dec 13 2018 20:01

Stayed at the hotel several times over the years. Staff have always been fantastic and helpful. The room we had this time was very large with plenty of room. It was clean and tidy and I would recommend the hotel. It is in a great location in the centre of Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Diane Carroll on Dec 12 2018 18:26

Always a friendly welcome at this centrally located hotel. Having stayed here in October we knew that we would have a hospitable welcome. The rooms are always spotless and well maintained.
 
 
 
 
 

by Tracey Briggs on Dec 7 2018 08:08

Stayed here on the 04/12/18 and the room and service was excellent i had called before had and explained is was my Wedding Anniversary and when I arrived there was petals on the bed and a card. The room was spotless and the bed was great with a great nights sleep and not a bit of noise I have stayed many places and would rate this as one of the best and will be back hopefully over the Christmas period.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sally on Dec 7 2018 07:29

For personal reasons I didn't end up staying the whole night but the room, the people and the welcome were great. They also found me a taxi when I needed to get home quickly. Brilliant location and it's a treat to stay somewhere that doesn't feel budget for a great price.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jeffrey Hadley on Dec 6 2018 08:19

Once again, my stay met all my expectations. Having stayed at the Royal Hotel before, I was already aware of the brilliant location, in terms of shopping and dining, and the double room I booked was of a very high standard. I will have no hesitation in booking your hotel in the future and recommending the same to family and friends.
 
 
 
 
 

by Caroline on Dec 3 2018 10:06

Excellent hotel which is centrally located. The price is exceptionally good value especially if you have the rate which includes breakfast. Friendly staff and see the bees on the top floor if you can.
 
 
 
 
 

by Clara on Nov 28 2018 19:22

Stayed here number of times now and will definetly be coming again. Had to email hotel before coming to ask if one of the rooms could be changed to a twin room and if we could have rooms close together as 1 of the party wasn't well and would feel easier if we were close by. Both request were fulfilled. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely friendly staff. Great deals on for Sunday night and midweek. Great location and stunning breakfast. Definetly one to recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by Clara on Nov 28 2018 08:07

Stayed here again for the 5th time.Booked 2 rooms. Had to contact the hotel and ask them to change the beds in the one room to twin beds. Also asked if the rooms could be next to each other as my one friend isn't well. When we got there rooms were next to each other. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Really helpful. Lovely staff. Great location. Wouldn't book anywhere else.
 
 
 
 
 

by JJ on Nov 27 2018 08:59

Great service, superb location, clean and eloquently decorated. Perfect for a Cardiff stay, will stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by markrushton on Nov 26 2018 15:33

exellent all together a fantastic stay
 
 
 
 
 

by Andy on Nov 25 2018 13:19

Excellent service, superb room exceeded expectations. Huge Breakfast choice. We will be using you again.
 
 
 
 
 

by kath griffiths on Nov 22 2018 17:34

Where do we start? We travel to Cardiff by train, which get's in around midday, so we walk to The Royal Hotel, (which is only a few minutes away) where we are greeted by the friendly reception staff and leave our luggage, as booking in is at 3pm, which is fine so we go for lunch and do some shopping , which is only a few minutes walk away. When we come back to book in, it's done with a very professional, friendly attitude.The rooms are lovely and cool, always lovely and clean with everything you'll need, there's very little noise to be heard, even though you're in a busy area. The breakfast the next day is set out in a lovely spacious dinning room, where you're greeted at the door by friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. It's the perfect hotel for us, we enjoy staying here and would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel not too far away from Shopping, Restuarnts, Theatres, Rugby & Sight-seeing, Looking forward to going again in March!
 
 
 
 
 

by Donna Peake on Nov 21 2018 08:03

Always stay at the Royal! Wonderful staff wonderful hotel!
 
 
 
 
 

by peter korczynski on Nov 8 2018 16:58

another lovely relaxing stay at the royal, fabulous breakfast to start the day. welcoming reception staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by AW on Nov 7 2018 21:44

Delighted to find this little gem! Had an excellent weekend and will certainly be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Darren on Nov 5 2018 14:17

Nice place to stay, with a fresh modern feel. I stay in Cardiff often with work and this Hotel is ideally situated, with friendly staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lorraine Smith on Nov 1 2018 06:10

Fantastic central location, ideal for shopping. Room was spacious and clean with nice decoration. Staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. However, my bed was very hard and uncomfortable, as were the pillows. I got up in the middle of the night to look in the cupboard for a blanket or spare duvet that I could put on top of the mattress but there was nothing. I had the worst nights sleep in a very long time. For this reason, I probably wouldn’t stay here again, certainly not in the same twin room as this time (room 703)
 
 
 
 
 

by James Blackstock on Oct 27 2018 08:09

Enjoyable one night stay with room upgraded on arrival at no cost. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Facility to leav luggage extremely helpful to avoid taking cases around while shopping or sight seeing in Cardiff. Breakfast extremely generous and only slight downside was that food and plates were not as hot as they could be. We are due back in a couple of weeks and look forward to staying again. James Blackstock
 
 
 
 
 

by Diane Carroll on Oct 23 2018 07:50

Perfectly located central hotel. Nice touch with the bee products from the roof top beehives
 
 
 
 
 

by Eddie Grimes on Oct 19 2018 12:10

Excellent hotel, Right in the center of Cardiff. Great staff, good rooms. Highly recommended.
 
 
 
 
 

by mattrpayne@icloud.com on Oct 18 2018 14:22

Always a smile on arrival and a very comfy bed...not to mention the fine quality of bathroom products!! It's such good value and in a prime location
 
 
 
 
 

by Jenifer on Oct 12 2018 10:54

We have stayed in the Royal many times over the past 3years and have always found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The housekeeping staff are always friendly and cheerful in tbe morning. My one criticism I would make is the quality of the pillows. These are not the quality I would have expected, lumpy old and NO pillow protector. My nights sleep could be much improved if these terrible pillows were replaced. Looking forward to our next stay despite the pillows. Would have awarded 5 stars but for the PILLOWS
 
 
 
 
 

by mr m lane on Oct 1 2018 18:57

great city center location, lovely room with big bed and nice bathroom thank you for the £5 drinks voucher and we were able to leave our cases while we went shopping and paid for our car park before leaving a total hassle free enjoyable stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Huw tagg on Sep 29 2018 10:12

We had a lovely time at your hotel, staff were very efficient at check in and check out, the only concern was that our room had clearly not been hoovered or swept as there were clothing tags and glitter on florr from previous guests, breakfast was fab.
 
 
 
 
 

by Brian on Sep 17 2018 19:55

Excellent room, comfortable bed, great breakfast and polite staff. What more would we want?
 
 
 
 
 

by Tidytaff on Sep 7 2018 14:42

A lovely friendly place which is very well positioned. We had an enjoyable stay and would recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Sep 7 2018 06:21

Amazing as always!
 
 
 
 
 

by Joerg on Sep 5 2018 07:03

During our stay in Cardiff we had a fantastic time at the Royal Hotel. Great service, extremely nice and helpful staff, a wonderful room, fantastic food, great bar!! We will definitely recommend it to others and we would like to come back one time. Thanks, Heike and Joerg, Germany
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice UK Reviews
Close Info