Make a Reservation
Free Wi-fi No Booking Fees City Centre Location Best Price Guarantee Enter Promotional Code
Book Now
 
Prepay & save £10!
Romance Package!
Stay two & save!

Reviews

Read Reviews (501)
(
4.62/5
) based on
501
reviews.

by Cindra Hilder on Jan 12 2019 20:36

Booked in for 2 night, coming from Australia we love the heat, and coming to a colder climate we wanted warmth. But seriously the rooms were like steam ovens the radiator that was in the bathroom was scolding and no control to adjust! Watch your children dont touch it! You can ask the reception to turn down the heating but we didn't know until we told them that the room was extremely hot the next day. They should notify you on arrival that they can turn down the heat. Apart from that it was a comfortable stay. Breakfast was good great variety. Lovely staff. We would stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by S.cope on Jan 12 2019 07:51

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek and very impressed with the room, location and service we received. I have stayed at hotels which are more expensive and no comparison. I would definitely recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by e collins on Jan 7 2019 08:49

Had a lovely time in a great location.
 
 
 
 
 

by S Collins on Jan 6 2019 10:19

Another great stay at the Royal
 
 
 
 
 

by Allison Pope on Dec 30 2018 18:25

Hotel was a very pleasant surprise - great location and service was very good. Breakfast staff were wonderful and made a fuss of my mother who was celebrating her 80th birthday. Would definitely stay again. Just one point - be careful with parking: We paid at the hotel to have our parking ticket validated but still had to pay in full at the car park as well - as we had stayed in Cardiff for an afternoon concert at St David’s. Would know better next time.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lisa Kirby on Dec 30 2018 06:06

Lovely clean hotel central to everything in Cardiff. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of options. Staff were friendly and helpful. The £5 off a drink in the bar on arrival was a lovely touch.. Woukd definitely stay again
 
 
 
 
 

by Gary on Dec 25 2018 10:44

Great hotel, central to all of Cardiff’s shops/nightlife/restaurants. Have stayed here a few times and you did not disappoint this time either,even though it was a busy Christmas weekend.Rooms ready and clean on time, staff very friendly. Keep up the good work. See you again soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by John Yuill on Dec 22 2018 09:01

What a fantastic hotel. Building, staff and atmosphere was just simply the best. My next trip to Cardiff in the New Year will be spent staying in the Royal. Highly recommended anyone to stay here. Nearly forgot to say had a breakfast to die for aswell!
 
 
 
 
 

by Shelly on Dec 21 2018 22:32

Great location, especially for the train station,and so quiet consider the location. Fab bar ! Friendly staff,and clean rooms. Bee kind products were a nice touch,and everything you would want from a hotel. Fabulous stay,and a good price happy customers.
 
 
 
 
 

by NiaAndFar on Dec 21 2018 08:19

Stayed here for a conference. Great location, so close to train station and right in city centre. Hotel is very good value and staff are very friendly. I stayed in December and there were complimentary mince pies every day!
 
 
 
 
 

by Jodie lewis on Dec 20 2018 09:09

Lovely hotel, great location. Staff are always really welcoming. Will definitely be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by Julie on Dec 17 2018 09:50

Stayed at the hotel on the 13th December and it didn't disappoint. Staff at checkin and at breakfast were very friendly. We had a deluxe room it was worth the extra. It was clean comfortable modern and had all of the amenities we needed. Breakfast was excellent Buffet style it had everything on offer from hot and cold food. We have stayed at the Royal in the past but I have to say this time the hotel was excellent and we will definitely be returning
 
 
 
 
 

by Stevieh on Dec 13 2018 20:01

Stayed at the hotel several times over the years. Staff have always been fantastic and helpful. The room we had this time was very large with plenty of room. It was clean and tidy and I would recommend the hotel. It is in a great location in the centre of Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Diane Carroll on Dec 12 2018 18:26

Always a friendly welcome at this centrally located hotel. Having stayed here in October we knew that we would have a hospitable welcome. The rooms are always spotless and well maintained.
 
 
 
 
 

by Tracey Briggs on Dec 7 2018 08:08

Stayed here on the 04/12/18 and the room and service was excellent i had called before had and explained is was my Wedding Anniversary and when I arrived there was petals on the bed and a card. The room was spotless and the bed was great with a great nights sleep and not a bit of noise I have stayed many places and would rate this as one of the best and will be back hopefully over the Christmas period.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sally on Dec 7 2018 07:29

For personal reasons I didn't end up staying the whole night but the room, the people and the welcome were great. They also found me a taxi when I needed to get home quickly. Brilliant location and it's a treat to stay somewhere that doesn't feel budget for a great price.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jeffrey Hadley on Dec 6 2018 08:19

Once again, my stay met all my expectations. Having stayed at the Royal Hotel before, I was already aware of the brilliant location, in terms of shopping and dining, and the double room I booked was of a very high standard. I will have no hesitation in booking your hotel in the future and recommending the same to family and friends.
 
 
 
 
 

by Caroline on Dec 3 2018 10:06

Excellent hotel which is centrally located. The price is exceptionally good value especially if you have the rate which includes breakfast. Friendly staff and see the bees on the top floor if you can.
 
 
 
 
 

by Clara on Nov 28 2018 19:22

Stayed here number of times now and will definetly be coming again. Had to email hotel before coming to ask if one of the rooms could be changed to a twin room and if we could have rooms close together as 1 of the party wasn't well and would feel easier if we were close by. Both request were fulfilled. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely friendly staff. Great deals on for Sunday night and midweek. Great location and stunning breakfast. Definetly one to recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by Clara on Nov 28 2018 08:07

Stayed here again for the 5th time.Booked 2 rooms. Had to contact the hotel and ask them to change the beds in the one room to twin beds. Also asked if the rooms could be next to each other as my one friend isn't well. When we got there rooms were next to each other. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Really helpful. Lovely staff. Great location. Wouldn't book anywhere else.
 
 
 
 
 

by JJ on Nov 27 2018 08:59

Great service, superb location, clean and eloquently decorated. Perfect for a Cardiff stay, will stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by markrushton on Nov 26 2018 15:33

exellent all together a fantastic stay
 
 
 
 
 

by Andy on Nov 25 2018 13:19

Excellent service, superb room exceeded expectations. Huge Breakfast choice. We will be using you again.
 
 
 
 
 

by kath griffiths on Nov 22 2018 17:34

Where do we start? We travel to Cardiff by train, which get's in around midday, so we walk to The Royal Hotel, (which is only a few minutes away) where we are greeted by the friendly reception staff and leave our luggage, as booking in is at 3pm, which is fine so we go for lunch and do some shopping , which is only a few minutes walk away. When we come back to book in, it's done with a very professional, friendly attitude.The rooms are lovely and cool, always lovely and clean with everything you'll need, there's very little noise to be heard, even though you're in a busy area. The breakfast the next day is set out in a lovely spacious dinning room, where you're greeted at the door by friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. It's the perfect hotel for us, we enjoy staying here and would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel not too far away from Shopping, Restuarnts, Theatres, Rugby & Sight-seeing, Looking forward to going again in March!
 
 
 
 
 

by Donna Peake on Nov 21 2018 08:03

Always stay at the Royal! Wonderful staff wonderful hotel!
 
 
 
 
 

by peter korczynski on Nov 8 2018 16:58

another lovely relaxing stay at the royal, fabulous breakfast to start the day. welcoming reception staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by AW on Nov 7 2018 21:44

Delighted to find this little gem! Had an excellent weekend and will certainly be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Darren on Nov 5 2018 14:17

Nice place to stay, with a fresh modern feel. I stay in Cardiff often with work and this Hotel is ideally situated, with friendly staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lorraine Smith on Nov 1 2018 06:10

Fantastic central location, ideal for shopping. Room was spacious and clean with nice decoration. Staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. However, my bed was very hard and uncomfortable, as were the pillows. I got up in the middle of the night to look in the cupboard for a blanket or spare duvet that I could put on top of the mattress but there was nothing. I had the worst nights sleep in a very long time. For this reason, I probably wouldn’t stay here again, certainly not in the same twin room as this time (room 703)
 
 
 
 
 

by James Blackstock on Oct 27 2018 08:09

Enjoyable one night stay with room upgraded on arrival at no cost. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Facility to leav luggage extremely helpful to avoid taking cases around while shopping or sight seeing in Cardiff. Breakfast extremely generous and only slight downside was that food and plates were not as hot as they could be. We are due back in a couple of weeks and look forward to staying again. James Blackstock
 
 
 
 
 

by Diane Carroll on Oct 23 2018 07:50

Perfectly located central hotel. Nice touch with the bee products from the roof top beehives
 
 
 
 
 

by Eddie Grimes on Oct 19 2018 12:10

Excellent hotel, Right in the center of Cardiff. Great staff, good rooms. Highly recommended.
 
 
 
 
 

by mattrpayne@icloud.com on Oct 18 2018 14:22

Always a smile on arrival and a very comfy bed...not to mention the fine quality of bathroom products!! It's such good value and in a prime location
 
 
 
 
 

by Jenifer on Oct 12 2018 10:54

We have stayed in the Royal many times over the past 3years and have always found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The housekeeping staff are always friendly and cheerful in tbe morning. My one criticism I would make is the quality of the pillows. These are not the quality I would have expected, lumpy old and NO pillow protector. My nights sleep could be much improved if these terrible pillows were replaced. Looking forward to our next stay despite the pillows. Would have awarded 5 stars but for the PILLOWS
 
 
 
 
 

by mr m lane on Oct 1 2018 18:57

great city center location, lovely room with big bed and nice bathroom thank you for the £5 drinks voucher and we were able to leave our cases while we went shopping and paid for our car park before leaving a total hassle free enjoyable stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Huw tagg on Sep 29 2018 10:12

We had a lovely time at your hotel, staff were very efficient at check in and check out, the only concern was that our room had clearly not been hoovered or swept as there were clothing tags and glitter on florr from previous guests, breakfast was fab.
 
 
 
 
 

by Brian on Sep 17 2018 19:55

Excellent room, comfortable bed, great breakfast and polite staff. What more would we want?
 
 
 
 
 

by Tidytaff on Sep 7 2018 14:42

A lovely friendly place which is very well positioned. We had an enjoyable stay and would recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Sep 7 2018 06:21

Amazing as always!
 
 
 
 
 

by Joerg on Sep 5 2018 07:03

During our stay in Cardiff we had a fantastic time at the Royal Hotel. Great service, extremely nice and helpful staff, a wonderful room, fantastic food, great bar!! We will definitely recommend it to others and we would like to come back one time. Thanks, Heike and Joerg, Germany
 
 
 
 
 

by Kath Crewe on Sep 3 2018 12:22

Lovely hotel, this was our second stay. Staff are friendly it is clean, the beds are comfy and the breakfast is lovely. I would highly recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Marie on Sep 2 2018 10:39

Lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable room. All the staff very friendly. Ideally situated in the middle of Cardiff. Have stayed here a few times and will definitely come back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mitzy123 on Sep 2 2018 09:53

Lovely room. Spacious. Clean. Friendly helpful staff. Definately will stay again. I like the deals they now do such as the Thursday deal.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer50273292 on Aug 29 2018 06:31

Excellent stay again for the 3rd time ! Location is brilliant ! Can't wait to stay again Mr and Mrs Helen Woodward
 
 
 
 
 

by PETER on Aug 26 2018 20:15

lovely stay again at the Royal.,Good service and excellent breakfast as always
 
 
 
 
 

by Mrs Joan Allan on Aug 25 2018 10:32

I LOVE staying at The Royal and have done so every year for the past several years. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location could not be more perfect I think. Less than 5 mins from Cardiff Central Station, just across the road from Royal Arcade which leads straight up to St. David's Shopping Centre, and also just a little further down the street you can get the bus down to Cardiff Bay. What's not to love about The Royal Hotel ? I am already looking forward to returning next year !
 
 
 
 
 

by Claire collins on Aug 11 2018 10:55

Fab from start to finish , arrived on Sun , lift broken , was upgraded to deluxe room on Wed , our 2nd visit , rooms very comfortable , staff could not have been nicer and manager showed us the bee hives in hotel . Hotel bar a bit quiet but free drink with £5 voucher a nice gesture ...eould recommend if you ever stay in Cardiff , very central too....
 
 
 
 
 

by Ken Foster on Aug 2 2018 07:58

My wife & I stayed here end of July in a deluxe room. It is an extremely pleasant, clean hotel. Everyone working here is very pleasant, nothing is too much trouble for any of them. Room was extremely comfortable & spotlessly clean with quality bedding,furniture & toiletries. Only problem was aircon wasn't very good so room was quite hot. Plenty of choices for breakfast, with the cooked buffet choice, good quality products & beautifully cooked. Lovely dining room. Have stayed at several hotels in Cardiff in the past, it will only be the Royal in future.
 
 
 
 
 

by Daniel on Jul 30 2018 10:58

Fantastic as always. Room lovely, reception polite, no problems whatsoever. We will definitely be returning.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul on Jul 25 2018 10:06

Very enjoyable stay. The hotel is situated right in the centre for everything. The room was very spacious and clean. Everything you expect. The best thing was how friendly the staff were. They made us feel very welcome. The only thing I would change is unsmoked bacon at breakfast.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice UK Reviews
Close Info