Make a Reservation
Free Wi-fi No Booking Fees City Centre Location Best Price Guarantee Enter Promotional Code
Book Now
Romance Package
Spring offer - £60BB
Cinema Room!

Reviews

Read Reviews (354)
(
4.57/5
) based on
354
reviews.

by kay rix on Mar 27 2017 12:07

thank you for a perfect stay. Hotel in a perfect position for visitors. Very helpful staff, beautiful room and an amazing breakfast. Recommended to all....
 
 
 
 
 

by Sharon heard on Mar 26 2017 13:23

Our stay at the hotel was for an overnight stay the room was very small for a double room & we experienced problems with the shower leaking & causing bathroom floor to become very wet the breakfast was quite enjoyable but had to wait a while for fresh hot food to come out into the dining room it was plentiful & overall quite tasty however we wasn't aware that there were egg options nobody had explained u could order different egg options a pleasant stay but the room was tiny for a double
 
 
 
 
 

by Cath Lewis on Mar 21 2017 08:53

We had a delux room for 1 nights stay on a Saturday. The room was spacious & nicely decorated. The bed was super comfy & lots of lovely freebie toiletries. The public areas where lovely & the breakfast was great value for money. The only reason i didn't give 5 stars is because the area around the hotel is very noisy on a Saturday night. This was not a huge problem for us as we expected it but i wouldn't recommend this hotel for a relaxing break as you may not get much sleep.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Mar 19 2017 07:41

Fabulous as always, love this hotel, wouldn't stay anywhere else, brilliant from start to finish! Superb value.
 
 
 
 
 

by Beth Barter on Mar 17 2017 17:00

Stayed for 1 night at the cinema room in october and had to come back for a little longer, this time it was 2 nights and I think I'll have to come back for another few days. The room is quirky and perfect for any couple looking for sonething a little different. Me and my partner are big tv and film fans and the movie theme is just perfect. I didnt have the breakfast this stay but had it last time and it was delicious and well laid out. A very relaxing stay in the heart of the city so easy to pop out for shopping and food whenever. We will be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by kate on Mar 10 2017 09:52

We found the hotel very lovely. Our room was very nice & spacious. Will certainly come back on our next trip to Cardiff & would highly recommend to others.
 
 
 
 
 

by kate on Mar 10 2017 08:58

We found the hotel very lovely. Our room was very nice & spacious. Will certainly come back on our next trip to Cardiff & would highly recommend to others.
 
 
 
 
 

by Robin Alexander on Mar 7 2017 17:41

A good location, especially for Rugby fans, and far better than you'd expect from the exterior. Friendly staff, comfortable bedroom with decent working wifi, the aircon however was very noisy in our room. We went out to eat in the evening but we did have the breakfast which was excellent. For an hotel the bar wasn't too outrageously priced but the choice was very limited, or for a real ale drinker non existent. There is though a wetherspoons within walking distance so you have choices.
 
 
 
 
 

by mr john b grimaldi on Feb 28 2017 10:25

a really comfortable and central hotel really friendly and helpful staff enjoyed my stay deffo will book again xx
 
 
 
 
 

by Ian Llewelyn on Feb 28 2017 09:35

What a nice hotel. the room was very clean, staff AT reception, bar & breakfast very helpful and friendly. The location is in the center of cardiff but not noisey. Will 100% stay here again. Will definitely recommend to stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by sian foster on Feb 22 2017 10:02

very happy with the Royal Hotel, second time to stay and great value for money. Would highly recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Feb 14 2017 10:24

Another amazing stay at our favourite Cardiff hotel! Excellent value, staff, room, breakfast and atmosphere. Always our first choice.
 
 
 
 
 

by Happy Days on Feb 12 2017 12:09

Very helpful staff central to all Cardiff shopping good rooms.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul on Feb 10 2017 11:14

Fantastic location, friendly and efficient staff, everything that you needed in the room/ hotel. Only reason 4 stars not 5 was because the hotel was too hot. From entrance to room, temperature was above comfortable, other guests were also commenting. Would happily still stay again, and hope that temperature has been adjusted or fixed?
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Feb 9 2017 08:17

Another amazing stay at our favourite hotel! Always our first choice. Great location, staff, food, room and atmosphere. Can't wait to visit again, thankyou.
 
 
 
 
 

by joe on Jan 31 2017 15:19

Once again we had an enjoyable stay in The Royal on Saturday night. We requested the room which we had on a previous visit, were very pleased when this was provided, thank you! Cardiff is very lively at the weekends, but our room was quiet (just a mild hum from the pub downstairs, but it stopped at a reasonable hour). The rooms are well appointed and really clean - with tea and coffee making, lovely toiletries, and a large bathroom with lots of towels. The small bar is lovely, especially when we had a voucher included, to spend there! The Royal is within walking distance of everything, so a perfect choice for a great stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jill Drew on Jan 26 2017 11:22

Last Monday was the 6th visit in the last six months or so and as usual my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Royal is the first Hotel we try to book on every visit to Cardiff. There may be "posher" Hotels in Cardiff but they can't beat the friendliness and great position of the Royal. Mention has to be made of Dean in the Lounge Bar, what a fantastic young man, we love him - always so pleasant and well mannered don't ever let him leave PLEASE. The Reception Staff are also really friendly and make you feel welcome as soon as you enter the Hotel. We have never had a bad experience in this Hotel and we will keep on visiting, provided we can get in of course.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lisa on Jan 24 2017 18:17

I booked the cinema room as had my daughter with me. She was blown away and loved the room! Complimentary snacks went down a treat too! Room was clean with great facilities.
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen Rees on Jan 24 2017 07:54

Stayed here for theatre trip, always great value, only £44.95 for the room which didn't include breakfast but still bargain. Have stayed many times but noticed hotel was really quite noisy from early morning this time so not sure if this was due to our room location (402)?. Still, staff very welcoming & enjoyed post theatre drink in bar with £5 voucher towards our drinks. Would definitely return as hotel cannot be faulted for cleanliness, location & price.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mark on Jan 22 2017 14:27

Brilliant hotel and the Staff were fantastic. Right in the middle of Cardiff and parking just up the road. Good breakfast too!!! Thanks to the staff and the manager who made us feel very welcome
 
 
 
 
 

by D Hopkins on Jan 18 2017 17:55

We love the Royal ,staff are great & hotel is fab.Spotlessly clean
 
 
 
 
 

by WJ Rich on Jan 16 2017 21:19

Absolutely. Lovely hotel with excellent. Customer service. Had an issue with room booking, but all sorted and no issues. Since then, we have booked a further 2 rooms for my daughter to stay. Only wish I could dream of is to have a room for the rugby six nations this year . Thank you guys .
 
 
 
 
 

by wendy lane on Jan 16 2017 21:11

Customer service was excellent and I could not fault the room and how quick they sorted the problem out. I have since booked 2 more dates,for my daughter who is staying there this week. Well. Recommend .
 
 
 
 
 

by Jill & Jack Drew on Jan 16 2017 09:21

The Royal is our first choice whenever we visit Cardiff, its like home from home for us now. The Staff are really friendly and accommodating, my favourite is Dean - he is always ready for a chat and makes you feel really welcome. The Reception Staff cannot do enough for you and you are greeted with a smile as soon as you enter the Hotel. We are both pensioners and find the Royal easy to access restaurants and shops. For as long as we are able we will continue to book with the Royal - we love the breakfasts too - great choice.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Jan 12 2017 12:10

Brilliant hotel, fabulous from start to finish, always stay here when visiting Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Leanne Drummond-Dunn on Jan 10 2017 20:27

Our recent stay with yourselves was extremely pleasant as always. Each time we stay in Cardiff we always book with The Royal Hotel as the rooms are beautifully kept and very clean. The staff on duty are always lovely and work very hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable and as comfortable as poss. We look forward to our next visit with you. Thankyou xx
 
 
 
 
 

by Clare Lott on Jan 4 2017 19:11

Was apprehensive of the standard due to the location of the hotel but was pleasantly surprised that although surrounded by bars and clubs our room was very quiet. The room was well furnished although a cracked and loose tile in the bathroom was disappointing. The room was warm and comfortable and feel we got good value for money. The extension of breakfast and checkout was very welcome after New Years Eve.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dmich on Dec 31 2016 09:19

Stayed between Christmas & new year for a family get together. 10 of us. Brilliant location for bars, food & shopping. Warm welcome at reception. Hotel room was a reasonable size, clean with laminate flooring making a pleasant change from some of the hotel carpets I've seen. Widescreen TV, free wifi, plenty of tea & coffee. IronIng board, iron & hairdryer in room. White fluffy towels. White clean bedding, there was a small frey in our sheet & tiling in bathroom a bit rough, couple of marks on the wall in bedroom but hell if that's the only fault I can find that's not bad!! I'm only mentioning that because some TripAdvisor reviews show shoddy paintwork which could put people off but our room was great! Being picky there!! No view but I didn't book to stay in the room! Lovely bar area with comfortable seating. The two bar men who served us were fab-nothing too much trouble. Try their £5 cocktail-very nice indeed! I paid £62 room only which for a city centre hotel was amazing-other guests in our party booked early and got it less than £50-bargain! Round the corner from the millennium-perfect for sports/concerts. Although I'm told the hotel does a lovely breakfast we didn't want to have to get up, check out at 11, there's a wetherspoons on the corner offering breakfast until 12 from £3.50-sorted! Will stay again! Will stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Marie McAvoy on Dec 28 2016 21:53

The Reception staff were pleasant and helpful at check in and departure. Our room was on the 5th floor and far outweighed our expectations. The room was spacious, with a large/king size bed, clean crisp white bed linen, a large sofa, and a good sized bathroom with clean white towels (which is more than what I can say for some hotels I've previously stayed in in Cardiff). The bathroom also had various toiletries, such as shower gel, soap etc. Whilst we had breakfast included in the booking we unfortunately didn't make breakfast. and are therefore unable to comment in this regard. We had a drink the bar area on an evening and the whole environment was very pleasant. Overall an excellent hotel, which we wouldn't think twice about booking again. Thank you Royal Hotel and we look forward to staying with you in the near future.
 
 
 
 
 

by Cheryl on Dec 19 2016 20:18

I just love this hotel. It's conveniently situated a couple of minutes walk from the train station and close to an aray of geat shops, restaurants and bars. Rooms are of a good standard and there is a comfy bar to chill out in if you want to get away from the hubbub of the city for a bit. The breskfast choice and dining room, coupled with excellent customer service is second to none, making this hotel my first choice every time!
 
 
 
 
 

by Clive Sullivan on Dec 17 2016 14:13

Excellent staff an excellent stay in an excellent hotel. Mr C. Sullivan.
 
 
 
 
 

by Gill Rees on Dec 16 2016 07:31

We stay regularly at the Royal as we like it's position to the station,shops and bus links to the bay and the Millenium Theatre. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the breakfast sets you up for a bust day.
 
 
 
 
 

by Claire on Dec 14 2016 19:38

Great welcome from reception....Nothing was too much trouble. Good comfortable rooms. Great location. Definitely book here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Stevieh on Dec 11 2016 20:31

Excellent position for everything. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and spacious. Recommended.
 
 
 
 
 

by Elaine Lloyd on Dec 8 2016 18:46

Fab hotel slap bang in the middle of the city, fantastic St David's 2 directly opposite and loads of restaurants and bars on your doorstep. Can highly recommend it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Karon Diment on Dec 4 2016 14:21

Stayed at the Royal on the 1st of December in the triple room, excellent room spacious very clean plenty of towels and toiletries, I would highly recommend staying , we had lovely cocktails on arrival in the very smart bar, service was excellent and so was the breakfast in the morning.
 
 
 
 
 

by Pauline Pearce on Nov 23 2016 17:42

Very comfortable hotel.could not fault the room - being able to dry my hair, dress etc near a full length mirror made such a refreshing change. A basic requirement so often missing in hotel rooms. Very central hotel near the rail station,shops, restaurants & Motorpoint Arena. Helpful, friendly staff - would definitely stay again. 5 stars
 
 
 
 
 

by shellvan on Nov 22 2016 18:55

Excellent central location and good hotel, we had a triple room and it was huge and comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly, especially the bar men who we found to be exceptionally friendly and helpful.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jessica Segelov on Nov 21 2016 21:48

This is the third time this term ive stayed in the royal hotel! Absolutley fantastic experience!!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Jörn on Nov 19 2016 09:35

We had an awseome stay in the Royal Cardiff Hotel. We booked one of the cinema rooms and we loved it. To bad we didn't book it for two nights.
 
 
 
 
 

by Siobhan Burke on Nov 18 2016 15:43

I stayed for business and it was a very pleasant stay. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel provided everything that I needed during my stay. The only improvement is that the entrance could be a little more welcoming. It is not very clear how to reach reception and the lift was very clunky.
 
 
 
 
 

by Bernard BRANCHET on Nov 18 2016 08:28

Very good hotel well situated in the center of the town near Clubs and animation. Nice persons at reception and in bar.
 
 
 
 
 

by Iain Mackenzie on Nov 7 2016 08:21

I stayed at the Royal while on Business in South Wales. The room was fantastic - even though there was night road works there was no street noise. All the staff were excellent and were very attentive to all guests. Evening food was ok - nice bar fare. Breakfast in the Morning was good, with a good selection and plenty of it! All in all an excellent stay and I will be back. Thanks
 
 
 
 
 

by Bradley Pivac on Nov 1 2016 18:29

I stayed at The Royal Hotel on Friday 28th October. This hotel could not be in a better location with all the bars and shops at your doorstep. Reception staff not only polite but very helpful and came across very genuine which is hard to find these days. The room itself was very good with the highlight being the huge and very comfortable bed. I would/will stay at The Royal Hotel many many times again and would recommend it to everyone. Also by booking direct I received a free drink in there house bar which was a bonus. 10/10
 
 
 
 
 

by Jessica Segelov on Oct 26 2016 18:59

Absolutley loved our visit at the Royal Hotel! Always a fabulous experience!
 
 
 
 
 

by Jason Gardner on Oct 26 2016 12:33

Nice deco in room and clean friendly staff and great breakfast and stay again soon
 
 
 
 
 

by Stephen Lang on Oct 25 2016 13:10

Lovely , Well presented and immaculately clean room. Breakfast also excellent. However, would have preferred a bath to the shower actually en-suite. ( Both of the other rooms booked simultaneously for my guests - that I paid for ! - had a bath ). Also big issue with street noise throughout the night from drunken revellers and live music until 2AM from the O'Neill's pub immediately below. Then, when it finally got quiet, glass bottle recycling was collected at 6AM ! Next time I'll ask for a room on the 6th floor - I was told that it's quiet up there !
 
 
 
 
 

by Leslie thorpe on Oct 24 2016 07:04

Another good stay at the Royal, large room with comfortable bed, staff friendly as always
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer65642232 on Oct 16 2016 18:51

Great location for visitors but more important very comfortable accommodation and best of all exceptional, polite and obliging staff!
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer21132205 on Oct 12 2016 07:18

This is the 3rd time that we have stayed here this year and find it a great place too stay. The rooms are spacious,clean and comfortable,the staff are friendly and helpful. They only downside is the breakfast which was poor for the price.The selection of the buffet is great and a wide range of choices (meats,cheeses,fruit,pastries etc) but the Welsh breakfast was poor the bacon was dry and hard the sausage was the same the yolk was hard.It was if they had been cooked a while and standing under heated lights and wasn't fresh which I thought they would have been as they took our order and we waited at least 30 mins for it to be served.That is the third time I've had breakfast here and it has been similar on each occasion.I like the hotel and it's in a great location but won't be having breakfast there again as I will go next door to O'Neills and get a better cooked breakfast for a third of the price.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice UK Reviews
Close Info