Make a Reservation
Free Wi-fi No Booking Fees City Centre Location Best Price Guarantee Enter Promotional Code
Book Now
Romance Package
Summer offer - £60BB
Cinema Room!

Reviews

Read Reviews (376)
(
4.58/5
) based on
376
reviews.

by Deborah Evans on Jul 18 2017 19:38

This is my second stay at The Royal , on both occasions ive had a very good stay , the staff are extremely pleasant and approachable, nothing is to much trouble. Definitely a 5 star rating from me . Looking forward to my next visit ☺
 
 
 
 
 

by Jo Isles on Jul 12 2017 10:19

This is a great hotel. Will definitely be returning when in Cardiff next.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Jul 5 2017 07:38

Excellent yet again, out 6th time here, never fails to please. Roll on next time!
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer34387250 on Jun 25 2017 09:05

Lovely Hotel, central to everything, train station, shops, stadium and eateries. Air conditioned and clean. Would definitely stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Traceyh on Jun 24 2017 06:14

Fabulous individual hotel with great staff
 
 
 
 
 

by Scott Rees on Jun 21 2017 22:15

Stayed 3 times in the last few months great location clean rooms it does what it needs to for us for a nifht out in cardiff. Will be back soon
 
 
 
 
 

by Amanda phillips on Jun 20 2017 06:13

Lovely hotel. Location is ideal for shopping or even if your going to see a show. Will stay in this hotel again. Outside apperance is old until you go inside, its modern and contempary look makes your stay feel luxurious
 
 
 
 
 

by lee on Jun 12 2017 17:13

Stayed in the cinema room...absolutely fantastic! and breakfast was superb! Looking forward to staying again!
 
 
 
 
 

by Ruth Caleb on Jun 12 2017 09:37

Thank you for a very comfortable stay. Room was pleasant (except that I would have liked a view of some sort). The staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was outstanding!
 
 
 
 
 

by Sabrina Saler on Jun 4 2017 19:17

Fantastic hotel for location and cultural attractions. Rooms were clean and beds particularly comfy. Staff were lovely and were more than happy to help with any requests. The breakfast was delicious too! All in all a great stay, would definitely recommend this hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Adan on May 31 2017 20:27

Very pleased to be upgraded free! Very nice hotel that made a special weekend mini break perfect!
 
 
 
 
 

by mike on May 4 2017 13:45

Fantastic value for money, friendly staff, great breakfast
 
 
 
 
 

by Jane Jenner on May 4 2017 13:44

Fantastic value for money, friendly staff, good breakfast
 
 
 
 
 

by Ian lloyd on May 4 2017 06:22

Had a two night stay at the royal again having used this hotel over the last couple of years would recommend highly good staff good location everything you need within a short walk
 
 
 
 
 

by Martin on Apr 26 2017 20:04

From start to finish during our stay it was absolutely faultless!!!.......to the polite & charming reception, the wonderful clean room with superb facilities, the breakfast was simply quality & the location of the hotel is so handy. Don't think we'll possibly stay anywhere else when we visit Cardiff in future!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Karen Rabey on Apr 25 2017 14:13

First time at this hotel although I have made many visits to Cardiff . The Royal didn't dissapoint . Great location ,lovely room good breakfast Like the fact that the rooms are on floors 3-7 which is great due to hotel location . Looking forward to my stay in July Thank you
 
 
 
 
 

by julie price on Apr 23 2017 17:44

Very clean and comfortable room. A good nights sleep and plentiful breakfast. Efficient, polite and helpful staff. Great location. Does what it says on the tin!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Sarah Evans on Apr 21 2017 10:47

Lovely place to stay very clean and modern.Right in the middle of the city centre and a really tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. Only negative, our room was above road works which was very noisy. I asked to be moved, we were moved promptly but we were only moved a couple of floors up. So we could still hear everything and the room we were given had very small high up windows, that you couldn't see out of which made the room very dark and stuffy. We were awoken by the road works at 8am so was not a very relaxing stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Tommy on Apr 13 2017 07:12

Very comfortable stay. Nice to get free room upgrade. Breakfast tasty. Staff polite.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer35333922 on Apr 10 2017 11:42

Great stay last week for three nights for work. All staff massively kind and helpful. Thank you.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lloyd on Apr 6 2017 22:06

We have stayed at The Royal many times and each time it has been excelent. The location is ideal for our needs and the hotel is clean, and staff are friendly. The only downside this time was that the room was a bit small with only one bedside cabinet, but as it was only a short stay this was not a major issue. I would definately recommend this hotel for your stay whilst in Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Gail on Apr 4 2017 01:33

The room was very nice, and the bed very comfortable. The Royal is in a excellent location for shopping, bars and restaurants, I would not hesitate to stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by kay rix on Mar 27 2017 12:07

thank you for a perfect stay. Hotel in a perfect position for visitors. Very helpful staff, beautiful room and an amazing breakfast. Recommended to all....
 
 
 
 
 

by Sharon heard on Mar 26 2017 13:23

Our stay at the hotel was for an overnight stay the room was very small for a double room & we experienced problems with the shower leaking & causing bathroom floor to become very wet the breakfast was quite enjoyable but had to wait a while for fresh hot food to come out into the dining room it was plentiful & overall quite tasty however we wasn't aware that there were egg options nobody had explained u could order different egg options a pleasant stay but the room was tiny for a double
 
 
 
 
 

by Cath Lewis on Mar 21 2017 08:53

We had a delux room for 1 nights stay on a Saturday. The room was spacious & nicely decorated. The bed was super comfy & lots of lovely freebie toiletries. The public areas where lovely & the breakfast was great value for money. The only reason i didn't give 5 stars is because the area around the hotel is very noisy on a Saturday night. This was not a huge problem for us as we expected it but i wouldn't recommend this hotel for a relaxing break as you may not get much sleep.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Mar 19 2017 07:41

Fabulous as always, love this hotel, wouldn't stay anywhere else, brilliant from start to finish! Superb value.
 
 
 
 
 

by Beth Barter on Mar 17 2017 17:00

Stayed for 1 night at the cinema room in october and had to come back for a little longer, this time it was 2 nights and I think I'll have to come back for another few days. The room is quirky and perfect for any couple looking for sonething a little different. Me and my partner are big tv and film fans and the movie theme is just perfect. I didnt have the breakfast this stay but had it last time and it was delicious and well laid out. A very relaxing stay in the heart of the city so easy to pop out for shopping and food whenever. We will be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by kate on Mar 10 2017 09:52

We found the hotel very lovely. Our room was very nice & spacious. Will certainly come back on our next trip to Cardiff & would highly recommend to others.
 
 
 
 
 

by kate on Mar 10 2017 08:58

We found the hotel very lovely. Our room was very nice & spacious. Will certainly come back on our next trip to Cardiff & would highly recommend to others.
 
 
 
 
 

by Robin Alexander on Mar 7 2017 17:41

A good location, especially for Rugby fans, and far better than you'd expect from the exterior. Friendly staff, comfortable bedroom with decent working wifi, the aircon however was very noisy in our room. We went out to eat in the evening but we did have the breakfast which was excellent. For an hotel the bar wasn't too outrageously priced but the choice was very limited, or for a real ale drinker non existent. There is though a wetherspoons within walking distance so you have choices.
 
 
 
 
 

by mr john b grimaldi on Feb 28 2017 10:25

a really comfortable and central hotel really friendly and helpful staff enjoyed my stay deffo will book again xx
 
 
 
 
 

by Ian Llewelyn on Feb 28 2017 09:35

What a nice hotel. the room was very clean, staff AT reception, bar & breakfast very helpful and friendly. The location is in the center of cardiff but not noisey. Will 100% stay here again. Will definitely recommend to stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by sian foster on Feb 22 2017 10:02

very happy with the Royal Hotel, second time to stay and great value for money. Would highly recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Feb 14 2017 10:24

Another amazing stay at our favourite Cardiff hotel! Excellent value, staff, room, breakfast and atmosphere. Always our first choice.
 
 
 
 
 

by Happy Days on Feb 12 2017 12:09

Very helpful staff central to all Cardiff shopping good rooms.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul on Feb 10 2017 11:14

Fantastic location, friendly and efficient staff, everything that you needed in the room/ hotel. Only reason 4 stars not 5 was because the hotel was too hot. From entrance to room, temperature was above comfortable, other guests were also commenting. Would happily still stay again, and hope that temperature has been adjusted or fixed?
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Feb 9 2017 08:17

Another amazing stay at our favourite hotel! Always our first choice. Great location, staff, food, room and atmosphere. Can't wait to visit again, thankyou.
 
 
 
 
 

by joe on Jan 31 2017 15:19

Once again we had an enjoyable stay in The Royal on Saturday night. We requested the room which we had on a previous visit, were very pleased when this was provided, thank you! Cardiff is very lively at the weekends, but our room was quiet (just a mild hum from the pub downstairs, but it stopped at a reasonable hour). The rooms are well appointed and really clean - with tea and coffee making, lovely toiletries, and a large bathroom with lots of towels. The small bar is lovely, especially when we had a voucher included, to spend there! The Royal is within walking distance of everything, so a perfect choice for a great stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jill Drew on Jan 26 2017 11:22

Last Monday was the 6th visit in the last six months or so and as usual my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Royal is the first Hotel we try to book on every visit to Cardiff. There may be "posher" Hotels in Cardiff but they can't beat the friendliness and great position of the Royal. Mention has to be made of Dean in the Lounge Bar, what a fantastic young man, we love him - always so pleasant and well mannered don't ever let him leave PLEASE. The Reception Staff are also really friendly and make you feel welcome as soon as you enter the Hotel. We have never had a bad experience in this Hotel and we will keep on visiting, provided we can get in of course.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lisa on Jan 24 2017 18:17

I booked the cinema room as had my daughter with me. She was blown away and loved the room! Complimentary snacks went down a treat too! Room was clean with great facilities.
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen Rees on Jan 24 2017 07:54

Stayed here for theatre trip, always great value, only £44.95 for the room which didn't include breakfast but still bargain. Have stayed many times but noticed hotel was really quite noisy from early morning this time so not sure if this was due to our room location (402)?. Still, staff very welcoming & enjoyed post theatre drink in bar with £5 voucher towards our drinks. Would definitely return as hotel cannot be faulted for cleanliness, location & price.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mark on Jan 22 2017 14:27

Brilliant hotel and the Staff were fantastic. Right in the middle of Cardiff and parking just up the road. Good breakfast too!!! Thanks to the staff and the manager who made us feel very welcome
 
 
 
 
 

by D Hopkins on Jan 18 2017 17:55

We love the Royal ,staff are great & hotel is fab.Spotlessly clean
 
 
 
 
 

by WJ Rich on Jan 16 2017 21:19

Absolutely. Lovely hotel with excellent. Customer service. Had an issue with room booking, but all sorted and no issues. Since then, we have booked a further 2 rooms for my daughter to stay. Only wish I could dream of is to have a room for the rugby six nations this year . Thank you guys .
 
 
 
 
 

by wendy lane on Jan 16 2017 21:11

Customer service was excellent and I could not fault the room and how quick they sorted the problem out. I have since booked 2 more dates,for my daughter who is staying there this week. Well. Recommend .
 
 
 
 
 

by Jill & Jack Drew on Jan 16 2017 09:21

The Royal is our first choice whenever we visit Cardiff, its like home from home for us now. The Staff are really friendly and accommodating, my favourite is Dean - he is always ready for a chat and makes you feel really welcome. The Reception Staff cannot do enough for you and you are greeted with a smile as soon as you enter the Hotel. We are both pensioners and find the Royal easy to access restaurants and shops. For as long as we are able we will continue to book with the Royal - we love the breakfasts too - great choice.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lucy Roderick on Jan 12 2017 12:10

Brilliant hotel, fabulous from start to finish, always stay here when visiting Cardiff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Leanne Drummond-Dunn on Jan 10 2017 20:27

Our recent stay with yourselves was extremely pleasant as always. Each time we stay in Cardiff we always book with The Royal Hotel as the rooms are beautifully kept and very clean. The staff on duty are always lovely and work very hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable and as comfortable as poss. We look forward to our next visit with you. Thankyou xx
 
 
 
 
 

by Clare Lott on Jan 4 2017 19:11

Was apprehensive of the standard due to the location of the hotel but was pleasantly surprised that although surrounded by bars and clubs our room was very quiet. The room was well furnished although a cracked and loose tile in the bathroom was disappointing. The room was warm and comfortable and feel we got good value for money. The extension of breakfast and checkout was very welcome after New Years Eve.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dmich on Dec 31 2016 09:19

Stayed between Christmas & new year for a family get together. 10 of us. Brilliant location for bars, food & shopping. Warm welcome at reception. Hotel room was a reasonable size, clean with laminate flooring making a pleasant change from some of the hotel carpets I've seen. Widescreen TV, free wifi, plenty of tea & coffee. IronIng board, iron & hairdryer in room. White fluffy towels. White clean bedding, there was a small frey in our sheet & tiling in bathroom a bit rough, couple of marks on the wall in bedroom but hell if that's the only fault I can find that's not bad!! I'm only mentioning that because some TripAdvisor reviews show shoddy paintwork which could put people off but our room was great! Being picky there!! No view but I didn't book to stay in the room! Lovely bar area with comfortable seating. The two bar men who served us were fab-nothing too much trouble. Try their £5 cocktail-very nice indeed! I paid £62 room only which for a city centre hotel was amazing-other guests in our party booked early and got it less than £50-bargain! Round the corner from the millennium-perfect for sports/concerts. Although I'm told the hotel does a lovely breakfast we didn't want to have to get up, check out at 11, there's a wetherspoons on the corner offering breakfast until 12 from £3.50-sorted! Will stay again! Will stay again.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice UK Reviews
Close Info